Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Zombicide» Forums » Rules

Subject: extra activation when spawning rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruno Reeuws
Belgium
Wevelgem
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

hi ppl,

played a couple of maps this weekend and at one moment we had a mass invasion in the streets wich made we had a lot of extra activations in the end

but this also ment we asked ourselves the question when spawning a fattie he gets 2 walker friends
do walkers get an extra activation if there are no more walkers left to join the fat boy?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sabrexl6 wrote:

hi ppl,

played a couple of maps this weekend and at one moment we had a mass invasion in the streets wich made we had a lot of extra activations in the end

but this also ment we asked ourselves the question when spawning a fattie he gets 2 walker friends
do walkers get an extra activation if there are no more walkers left to join the fat boy?


Yes. You always get extra activations when you cannot place a certain type of zombie for whatever reason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Reeuws
Belgium
Wevelgem
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thaught so
thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hoyt
United States
East Liverpool
Ohio
flag msg tools
ボルトン
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Walkers do not get an extra activation on a Fatty Spawn (if there are no more walkers, then the Fatty spawns alone).

Only the specific type of Zombie that is spawned would get an activation if/when no more of that type are available).

~Will
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Floydski wrote:

Walkers do not get an extra activation on a Fatty Spawn (if there are no more walkers, then the Fatty spawns alone).

Only the specific type of Zombie that is spawned would get an activation if/when no more of that type are available).

~Will


When you spawn fatties they always spawn with two walkers. If you can not place those walkers then all walkers do get an extra activation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Beck
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Say the magic words: F.A.Q.!

http://guillotinegames.com/dl/zomb_faq_1.0_EN.pdf
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Beckikaze wrote:


I was just going to edit my post to include that! And for clarification here is the wording from said FAQ:

Official Zombicide FAQ wrote:
Q: What happens if a Fatty should be spawned but there are no Walkers left?

A: Since a Fatty should spawn with two Walkers, the lack of the requested Zombie type means all Walkers on the board gain an extra activation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twisted Remorse
msg tools
What if you don't have a fatty but still have walkers. Do you still spawn the walkers and give fatties extra activation? Or just do the activation and no walkers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Twisted Remorse wrote:
What if you don't have a fatty but still have walkers. Do you still spawn the walkers and give fatties extra activation? Or just do the activation and no walkers?

I'd say so, reactivate the fatties and spawn the walkers alone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twisted Remorse
msg tools
My group Saturday believes no, because the walkers spawn with the fatty. So if no fatty, no walkers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thiago Aranha
Brazil
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So just reactivate all fatties and walkers, even though you have walkers to spare?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Loophole Master wrote:
Twisted Remorse wrote:
What if you don't have a fatty but still have walkers. Do you still spawn the walkers and give fatties extra activation? Or just do the activation and no walkers?

I'd say so, reactivate the fatties and spawn the walkers alone.


I agree. The Fatty picture on the spawning card is essentially requesting you to place a Fatty and two Walkers so you place whatever you can of the requested type and whatever you can't place gets an extra activation.

Twisted Remorse wrote:
My group Saturday believes no, because the walkers spawn with the fatty. So if no fatty, no walkers.


It's in the wording of the bit I quoted - 'the lack of the requested Zombie type means all Walkers on the board gain an extra activation'. Since the fatty is the requested type that you lack the fatty would get the extra spawn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Twisted Remorse
msg tools
Loophole Master wrote:
So just reactivate all fatties and walkers, even though you have walkers to spare?


No as in, you don't spawn a fatty because you don't have any, so you don't spawn walkers because they are only there because of a fatty. But then you extra activate fatties for no having one to begin with. Essentially you ignore walkers for that card.

Edit: at least that's how we interpret it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Twisted Remorse wrote:
Loophole Master wrote:
So just reactivate all fatties and walkers, even though you have walkers to spare?


No as in, you don't spawn a fatty because you don't have any, so you don't spawn walkers because they are only there because of a fatty. But then you extra activate fatties for no having one to begin with. Essentially you ignore walkers for that card.

Edit: at least that's how we interpret it.


The card is for X fatties and two accompanying walkers per fatty. If you are unable to place any of these you place all the ones that you can and the ones you cannot get an extra activation. So:

- if you have enough fatties and walkers then all is good
- if you don't have enough (including having none) fatties and walkers then all fatties and walkers get an extra activation
- if you have enough fatties but not enough (or any) walkers then all walkers get an extra activation
- if you don't have enough (or any) fatties but enough walkers then all fatties get an extra activation

In all cases when you don't have enough of a particular zombie type you place the ones that you do have before doing the extra activation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jonahmaul wrote:

- if you have enough fatties and walkers then all is good
- if you don't have enough (including having none) fatties and walkers then all fatties and walkers get an extra activation
- if you have enough fatties but not enough (or any) walkers then all walkers get an extra activation
- if you don't have enough (or any) fatties but enough walkers then all fatties get an extra activation


Quoted for truth.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
regarding extra activations in case of runners, do they get 2 actions each time or only 1 more action?
the rulebook mentions they get their normal 2 actions when the extra activation spawn card is drawn but does that also apply to extra activations due to not enough zombie figurines?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thibaud Dejardin
France
Ferrère-La-Grande
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each time you activate a runner, he has two actions.
They are nasty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Angelsenior wrote:
regarding extra activations in case of runners, do they get 2 actions each time or only 1 more action?
the rulebook mentions they get their normal 2 actions when the extra activation spawn card is drawn but does that also apply to extra activations due to not enough zombie figurines?


Yes, an extra activation from running out of miniatures is exactly the same as an extra activation card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.