Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Andean Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing Events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a faction play an event even if that event would have no effects in order to keep another faction from playing it?

Example: AUC has the option on Union Sind. Obrera...but there are no FARC bases or opposition adjacent to 3-LOCs. Can AUC "play" the event anyway to keep FARC from playing it?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ægir Æxx
Iceland
Reykjavik
Gullbringusysla
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why wouldn't AUC just take an Insurgent op without special ops and force the FARC to take a Limited op or pass?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Great point--forgot about that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Stewart
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's sooo Hot out here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Leonhard wrote:
Great point--forgot about that.


You really want to be performing SOME activity that improves your position.

I'm all for blocking, but in this game you must keep going forward. Most damage CAN be undone, and sometimes the cards can distract your opponents from their short and long term objectives


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just for completeness, yes, that would be a legal play (5.1.3).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Guttag
United States
West Chester
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing an Event that has no benefit to the executing Faction (to keep the next Faction in the queue from executing that Event, what I call a "spoiler" play) might make sense if the executing Faction had no Resources to do an Op. Might be a rare situation, but could come up. One example of such a "spoiler" play would be Oil Spill (#6) where the Government can't shift a Department to Passive Support (no adjacent sabotaged pipelines or no adjacent Departments at Opposition or Neutral Support), but where the next up Insurgent Faction could play the "shaded" Event (sabotage pipeline and shift adjacent Department one level towards Opposition).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.