Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gunky Gamer
United States
Gardiner
New York
flag msg tools
badge
You and me...We're in this together now...None of them can stop us now...We will make it through somehow
mbmb
Chits and storage aside, are there any particular issues with using the expansions with the first edition of SotM? I've been playing the first edition for seven or eight months and I'm ready for more. Unless there is some compelling reason associated with gameplay, I'd just prefer to spend my $26 on more new stuff, rather than to re-buy the core set.

Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Newman
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ya just purchase the expansions it doesn't matter what base set you have. You can actually play a two player game with just an expansion rules are included.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just get new stuff, you'll be fine. If you can get your hands on the oversized villain cards that alone will allow you to play with the H mechanic, which is the main thing fixed with 2nd edition.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Burton
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
There are a couple of minor changes that were made to hero decks in the 2nd edition.

The ones that I remember off the top of my head are that:

1. Tempest's "into the stratosphere" was modified slightly in 2nd edition to exclude indestructible cards (in 1st edition, there's nothing on the card prohibiting usage against, say, Spite's drugs)

2. End of days was modified in 2nd edition so that cards with the "relic" keyword were spared...and Fanatic's equipment gained the Relic Keyword. In the expansion, Apostate (her nemesis) has similar relics and a card that mimics end of days.