Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Alien Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terraforming station plus plasma cannon allows for double colony drop? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sudroy GMR
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the following scenario legal?

I have the plasma cannon card
My ships are a 1,2,3,6,6

Can i dock a ship at the TS and then plasma cannon it a away to dock a second ship?

This would allow 2 colonies to be placed in one turn provided i could pay the cost.

Page 9 of the rules says the plasma cannon can take my ship but no mention if i can reuse the TS during the same turn.

It seems like a legal move.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Forrest & Ryan Driskel
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It says on the card itself that you can only target OTHER players' ships with the plasma cannon.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clint Herron
United States
Bethel
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
♜ ♞ ♝ ♛ ♚ ♝ ♞ ♜ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟ ♟
badge
♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♙ ♖ ♘ ♗ ♕ ♔ ♗ ♘ ♖
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vanish wrote:
It says on the card itself that you can only target OTHER players' ships with the plasma cannon.


Correct -- plasma cannon would be way too powerful if you could target your own ships.


Sidenote: There is a way to use the Terraforming Station twice in a single turn, but it doesn't involve the Plasma Cannon.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sudroy GMR
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point, i'll clean my glasses next time i play.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hm, do I remember correctly that the DISCARD ability of the Plasma Cannon may target my own ships? So wouldn't that be a way to use terraforming twice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Almecho wrote:
Hm, do I remember correctly that the DISCARD ability of the Plasma Cannon may target my own ships?

No
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
HanClinto wrote:
Sidenote: There is a way to use the Terraforming Station twice in a single turn, but it doesn't involve the Plasma Cannon.


How?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You could use the relic ship on the terraforming station. Then use a discard power that moves colonies (i.e. Orbital Teleporter) such that you lost the Burroughs Desert thus immediately sending the relic ship back and opening up the terraforming station for a second placement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
Clever girl.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max
United States
Fuquay Varina
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Reign of Fire
badge
Bombs Away! Mission 9.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jepmn wrote:
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.