Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guerre de Course and Britain subject neutral rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rasmus
Denmark
Copenhagen N
flag msg tools
France has played Guerre de Course as event and still has 2 Offboard Fleets at the end of the turn. In the conquest phase Britain becomes subject neutral.

I assume Guerre de Course is still in effect, and Britain therefore draws 2 cards less - Britain still gets it's minimum hand of course. Is this correct?

What happens if Britain chooses to discard all cards and forfeit its reserves as per rule 14.31 - 3?

Will it draw it's maximum hand? Or will it draw it's maximum hand minus two?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mb
The game ends when Britain becomes Subject Neutral. It's 5.82 in my version of the rules, but numbering may have changed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rasmus
Denmark
Copenhagen N
flag msg tools
Only if France has 6 or more points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mb
France conquered Britain with fewer than six points!?! France conquered Britain without using the Guerre de Course for CP!?! Wow, some game!

In that case, I'd say Britain could do the Subject Neutral Max hand thing, but then would have to lose two of those cards to the Guerre de Course. So only draw two cards for its hand plus two cards for Reserve.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rasmus
Denmark
Copenhagen N
flag msg tools
Yes - it's quite a game

We're continuing turn 2 tomorrow.

But if Britain loses 2 cards from its maximum hand, it will be down to 2 cards - and might as well not use rule 13.31-3 since it will get 2 cards as its minimum hand anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
The capital of New Hampshire is pronounced "Conquered." The people are called New Hamsters. They pronounce "aunt" to rhyme with "taunt."
Avatar
mb
That's probably true, yes. Such is the fate of those who both allow themselves to conquered AND don't catch French oversea raiders.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.