Popular Tags: [View All]
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've trimmed down the excess plastic on my unassembled minis, but I have had little experience with this sort of project so I want to be sure I won't mess anything up going forward. So a few questions:

1. Would it be better to paint the bases before gluing on the figures, or after? Seems like plastic-paint would be a weaker bond than plastic-plastic.

2. How important is it to trim down the lighter mold lines along the edges of the figures? Some run over very detailed areas that I don't want to flatten out.

3. Anyone have a good solution for changing out Barker's two weapons? I've seen some involving magnets and drilling holes for them (for Hurley, too), but I'm hesitant to damage the model for this.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G G
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Glue everything before painting. It gives you something to hold onto and work with.

2. Mold lines will show under paint, so there's no really good answer.

3. Make the gun you like better, and call it a day. If you want to play the other, it simply "counts as" the other gun.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
But then I've got this useless spare plastic gun noooooooo!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Niemann
Germany
Hagen a.T.W.
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
www.spielträumer.de
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ooh! Ooh! I have questions too!

Since some of the delicate parts are bent quite a bit, would you recommend the hot water treatment *before* gluing? I mean, if the pieces even fit (I have not tried – I need to finish Dreadfleet finally before I start on SW).

And regarding the resin casting residue: wash before assembly?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JH
United States
Albany
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb