Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Agricola: World Championship Deck – 2011» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about various occupations: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MacDouglass Kinnick
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Hee Haw!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1.) Cloister Dweller: If you have an "L" shaped house, would you score 1 bonus point? Similarly, f you have an "L" shaped field, would you score another bonus point?

2.) Stable Deliveryman: Let's say its round #1 when you play this occ and you still have all 4 of your stables available. Could you choose to only place stables on round 4 (round 1 + 3) and round 10 (round 1 + 9)?

3.) Sunday Worker: Ex: in round 7, if there are 9 wood on an accumulation space, and you place a worker on this space and then decide to use the Sunday Worker's ability, would you get 18 wood?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) This depends on your L shape. Here are some possible cases to explain.

If it is case 1 below, you do not get the VP. If it is case 2 below, then yes, you get 1 VP. If it is case 3 below, you get 1 VP. If it is case 4 below, you get 2 VPs.

Legend: H=house, *=something else, F=field

Case 1
*****
H****
HH***

Case 2
H****
H****
HH***

Case 3
H****
H**F*
HH*FF

Case 4
H**F*
H**F*
HH*FF

2) No, you have to place all stables if there are sufficient round spaces available.

3) Yes, your example is correct and you get 18 wood. At least that's how we played the Sunday Worker too.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Kerenza
United Kingdom
Bradford
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Case 5
*F***
HFFFF
HHHH*

Case 5 you got 0 VPs laugh

Just work it on a column by column basis anything outside the current column you are scoring is irrelevant to the card
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
1. Just go column by column. The foot of the L in the neighboring column doesn't have anything to do with it.

2. Same as Fence Deliveryman. Placement is non-optional.
Completely different from Fence Deliveryman. Placement is completely optional.

3. There is never 9 wood on a space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Deotte
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding question 2:

The text says place up to 1. Based on the text, you do have a choice.



This is the same language that WM Family Planner uses and Family Planner gives you the choice to place or not with regard to each Person:

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MacDouglass Kinnick
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Hee Haw!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for the feedback.

Regarding question #2 and given your confirmation that the player does have a choice, then he/she would be allowed to place a stable on round 4 and round 10, assuming this occ is placed in round 1, and also allowed to skip placing a stable on rounds 6 & 8.

Regarding Mike's response to question #3, I assume he's just insinuating that no sane gamers would leave 9 unclaimed wood on the "3 Wood" accumulation space, right? But, the specific answer to my hypothetical question is, "yes, he/she would get 18 wood", correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Deotte
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MacDouglass wrote:
Regarding question #2 and given your confirmation that the player does have a choice, then he/she would be allowed to place a stable on round 4 and round 10, assuming this occ is placed in round 1, and also allowed to skip placing a stable on rounds 6 & 8.

Yes.

MacDouglass wrote:
Regarding Mike's response to question #3, I assume he's just insinuating that no sane gamers would leave 9 unclaimed wood on the "3 Wood" accumulation space, right? But, the specific answer to my hypothetical question is, "yes, he/she would get 18 wood", correct?

Yes, you would get 18 Wood.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shields
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MacDouglass wrote:

Regarding question #2 and given your confirmation that the player does have a choice, then he/she would be allowed to place a stable on round 4 and round 10, assuming this occ is placed in round 1, and also allowed to skip placing a stable on rounds 6 & 8.


Yes, but also note that even if you choose to place all 4 stables on future round spaces, you are not actually required to buy the stables when that round comes around. If you choose not to buy them, they simply go back to your supply.

So the only advantage to choosing to not place them on the future round spaces, is that they are available in your supply if you end up wanting to buy them sooner.

In practice, if you find that you don't want to place all of them, then you probably have something better to do with your turn than play Stable Deliveryman.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.