Simon Wilcock
United Kingdom
Wallingford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The Horn of Gondor states:

For each different non-starter cards among cards you play or have played this turn, +1 power

Does that include the Horn of Gondor itself? ie if it is the only artifact I play, it still counts +1 for itself?

Also, how about corruption? Can I play a corruption card and use the Horn to give it a +1 power?
ie Are corruptions ever considered played or just discarded?

On the subject of corruption....
when a player gains corruption, does this go immediately into the discard pile or into the hand?
We have been playing the former, but with card interactions it becomes a crucial point devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Patriss
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would love to hear the official ruling on the 1st question but for the gaining corruption they go directly into your discard pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Daniel
Czech Republic
Ostrava
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Horn of gondor is artifact and gives you +1 power for artifact type. Corruptions have not type, so they dont give +1 power to Horn of Gondor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Daniel
Czech Republic
Ostrava
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Steerpike.Instance wrote:

On the subject of corruption....
when a player gains corruption, does this go immediately into the discard pile or into the hand?
We have been playing the former, but with card interactions it becomes a crucial point devil


I think that is good to read a rulebook before gameplay..
Page 9 "Gaining Cards"

;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Wilcock
United Kingdom
Wallingford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Calmien wrote:
Horn of gondor is artifact and gives you +1 power for artifact type. Corruptions have not type, so they dont give +1 power to Horn of Gondor.


but there is no reference to 'type' on the Horn of Gondor card?

Also corruption is a distinct type of card

I'd like to hear the official ruling
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Wilcock
United Kingdom
Wallingford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Calmien wrote:
Steerpike.Instance wrote:

On the subject of corruption....
when a player gains corruption, does this go immediately into the discard pile or into the hand?
We have been playing the former, but with card interactions it becomes a crucial point devil


I think that is good to read a rulebook before gameplay..
Page 9 "Gaining Cards"

;-)


blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Daniel
Czech Republic
Ostrava
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Steerpike.Instance wrote:
Calmien wrote:
Horn of gondor is artifact and gives you +1 power for artifact type. Corruptions have not type, so they dont give +1 power to Horn of Gondor.


but there is no reference to 'type' on the Horn of Gondor card?

Also corruption is a distinct type of card

I'd like to hear the official ruling


Horn of Gondor "For each different non-starter card type among cards you play or have played this turn, +1 power"

same thing.. in rulebook page 2.. "The different card types that you can play are: Starter, Enemy, Location, Ally, Maneuver, Artifact, and Fortune. Corruption cards have no card type".

Cardy type is writen on cards on left side below picture.

I think thats obvious..
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Babel
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
^ concur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Steerpike.Instance wrote:

The Horn of Gondor states:

For each different non-starter cards among cards you play or have played this turn, +1 power

Does that include the Horn of Gondor itself? ie if it is the only artifact I play, it still counts +1 for itself?

Also, how about corruption? Can I play a corruption card and use the Horn to give it a +1 power?
ie Are corruptions ever considered played or just discarded?

On the subject of corruption....
when a player gains corruption, does this go immediately into the discard pile or into the hand?
We have been playing the former, but with card interactions it becomes a crucial point devil


As mentioned already... the rules state that Corruptions go straight to your discard pile. Horn of Gondor checks card types. Corruption has no type.

You may play a Corruption or leave it in your hand. Playing it does nothing unless an outside effect says something happens.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Wilcock
United Kingdom
Wallingford
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the clarifications and the gentle prods to read the rules more thoroughly

Matt - great game - it just keeps on giving!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomas Daniel
Czech Republic
Ostrava
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Steerpike.Instance wrote:
Thanks for all the clarifications and the gentle prods to read the rules more thoroughly

Matt - great game - it just keeps on giving!


You welcome ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.