Subject: Yuck, games that are similar to my own rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike L.
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been making a dungeon crawl for almost 9 months, which is similar but not the same as mice and mystics, kingdom death, Myth and now galaxy defenders. I am frustrated that it will not be finished til after all of these games have gone out to the kickstarter fans and my work will be too little too late. So, what should I do now? Create it anyways and hope they are all hype and miniatures? Stop working on it, post it as PNP and cry in a corner? Go to each of the creators homes and make sure their games never see the light of day?

*sigh* It's been a rough day in general and I feel pretty defeated all around.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Nyberg
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I felt the same way about my world war I game when Axis & Allies 1914 came out. I figured I would wait with my game until the hype of that game wears off. But by that time there may be another WWI game on the market.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
"Federer is Betterer"
mbmbmbmbmb
nitro9090 wrote:
I have been making a dungeon crawl for almost 9 months, which is similar but not the same as mice and mystics, kingdom death, Myth and now galaxy defenders.

... have you never heard of multiple discovery theory? ... things tend to be simultaneously developed by many ... not that dungeon crawlers are a new thing ... they aren't. Just that game concepts come out of a collection of idea's which are out there which many people notice at the same time which encourages them to make a similar things based upon those concepts. The good news is that only the best of these new things survives ... so if your game is truly good it will do well ... and if it isn't ... oh well ...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dickinson
United Kingdom
Berkshire
flag msg tools