Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Define "nearest" for Beserk units when they charge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon G
United States
Bossier City
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a beserk unit charges the nearest unit in it's LOS, is that unit the objective for the entire charge or does the beserk unit switch to a new target unit if one appears closer during it's advance?



In the picture above, the beserk units in U2 charge towards the German units in AA2 since they are the closest enemy units in their LOS. However, as they charge and enter into hex X1, they now have LOS on another German unit in Y3 that is closer than their original target.

Do they now switch to the German unit in Y3 or maintain their original target?

What if the new German unit is equidistant from the original target (Germans in Z3)? can the beserk unit choose which target to attack if two units now appear equally as close in its LOS as it charges? Or must it maintain it's original target?

Thanks
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Power
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Berserkers charge the 'discovered' unit if closer than the original. If two 'discovered' targets are encountered which are closer than the original target, then I would say they have a choice as to which of the newly discovered targets to engage. If a newly discovered target is equal distance to the original target, than the original target remains the current target.

18.42 (SL) Charging Requirements

● A berserk unit must charge the nearest (in hexes, not MF) enemy unit in its LOS during its MPh & APh in an attempt to destroy it in CC.
● The charging unit must take the shortest route (in MF) to the enemy unit.
● It may fire during the DFPh and AFPh but not during the PFPh.

Q & As

#83. What happens if a berserk unit is “charging” the nearest unit in its LOS and on the way becomes closer to another unit in its LOS?
It charges the closer unit. {KM}


#94. What if a berserk unit does not have a LOS to an enemy units?
It doesn’t have to charge until it does. In the meantime it cannot move from its present hex. {COI 4-68, COD 74}

#96. May a berserk unit already adjacent to an enemy unit at the beginning of the MPH move to another hex if it remains adjacent to the original adjacent enemy unit?
No. Such movement would not be the shortest route to the closest enemy unit. The berserker could fire at other units during the AFPh, though. {GEN 15.2-34, COI 4-68}

#98. What happens if a berserk unit, in order to move to the closest unit in LOS, must move out of its LOS to get there?
It still continues to charge the same hex. {KM}

#99. If the unit in the target hex a berserker is charging is eliminated or moves out of LOS, and there are no other enemy units in the berserker’s LOS, does that berserker still charge towards the original target hex?
Yes, and it will immediately charge the first enemy unit to which to obtains LOS; if it reaches the original target hex without seeing another enemy unit, it must stop there until it has a LOS to another enemy unit when it must charge the new target. {MMP}

110.2 (COD) Enemy Not in LOS

● A unit which goes berserk which is not currently in the LOS of an enemy unit cannot move in any manner until it is in the LOS of an enemy unit at which point it must charge that enemy unit.

Q & As

#762. What if a berserk unit charges an enemy but before it can reach the enemy hex, the enemy is eliminated or moves out of the berserk unit’s LOS?
If no other enemy unit is in its LOS, the berserk unit will continue to charge the hex last occupied by the enemy in its LOS. Once there it ends its MPh and must remain in that hex until it sees an enemy unit. {COD 106}
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Badger
England
London
Enfield
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GordoMG wrote:






Looks awfully familiar....
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon G
United States
Bossier City
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michael Power wrote:
Berserkers charge the 'discovered' unit if closer than the original. If two 'discovered' targets are encountered which are closer than the original target, then I would say they have a choice as to which of the newly discovered targets to engage. If a newly discovered target is equal distance to the original target, than the original target remains the current target.

18.42 (SL) Charging Requirements

● A berserk unit must charge the nearest (in hexes, not MF) enemy unit in its LOS during its MPh & APh in an attempt to destroy it in CC.
● The charging unit must take the shortest route (in MF) to the enemy unit.
● It may fire during the DFPh and AFPh but not during the PFPh.

Q & As

#83. What happens if a berserk unit is “charging” the nearest unit in its LOS and on the way becomes closer to another unit in its LOS?
It charges the closer unit. {KM}


#94. What if a berserk unit does not have a LOS to an enemy units?
It doesn’t have to charge until it does. In the meantime it cannot move from its present hex. {COI 4-68, COD 74}

#96. May a berserk unit already adjacent to an enemy unit at the beginning of the MPH move to another hex if it remains adjacent to the original adjacent enemy unit?
No. Such movement would not be the shortest route to the closest enemy unit. The berserker could fire at other units during the AFPh, though. {GEN 15.2-34, COI 4-68}

#98. What happens if a berserk unit, in order to move to the closest unit in LOS, must move out of its LOS to get there?
It still continues to charge the same hex. {KM}

#99. If the unit in the target hex a berserker is charging is eliminated or moves out of LOS, and there are no other enemy units in the berserker’s LOS, does that berserker still charge towards the original target hex?
Yes, and it will immediately charge the first enemy unit to which to obtains LOS; if it reaches the original target hex without seeing another enemy unit, it must stop there until it has a LOS to another enemy unit when it must charge the new target. {MMP}

110.2 (COD) Enemy Not in LOS

● A unit which goes berserk which is not currently in the LOS of an enemy unit cannot move in any manner until it is in the LOS of an enemy unit at which point it must charge that enemy unit.

Q & As

#762. What if a berserk unit charges an enemy but before it can reach the enemy hex, the enemy is eliminated or moves out of the berserk unit’s LOS?
If no other enemy unit is in its LOS, the berserk unit will continue to charge the hex last occupied by the enemy in its LOS. Once there it ends its MPh and must remain in that hex until it sees an enemy unit. {COD 106}


Thank you for the response.

May I ask where you get these references? I know there are some FAQs at the back of the rulebook, but nothing as extensive as you've got here. Is there a link to these Q&A?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon G
United States
Bossier City
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Badgeroonie wrote:
GordoMG wrote:






Looks awfully familiar....


whistle

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Power
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GordoMG wrote:

May I ask where you get these references? I know there are some FAQs at the back of the rulebook, but nothing as extensive as you've got here. Is there a link to these Q&A?


The Q & As are from Squad Leader Academy. Most are from the various supplemental rule books. Some were included from individuals such as "KM" and others. I've included them in my ongoing rule consolidation of SL/COI/COD/GIA from which I copied my response to your questions.

The link to the Academy is http://www.wargameacademy.org/SQLA/ and the Q&As is http://www.wargameacademy.org/SQLA/Documentation/SqlSeriesQA...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.