Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Corruscant defence fleet Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sherrif Lobo
msg tools
Can it only defend Heart of the Empire, or can it defender other objective (but not able to shield any damage if any) ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It can be declared as a defender for any objective. It can also shield any particpiating unit, or the objective that it's defending (not just Heart of the Empire). Shielding is separate from Protect, and doesn't depend on any of Protect's restrictions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sherrif Lobo
msg tools
Ok thanks, but if it is defending an objective other than heart of the empire, can it take damage for those objectives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kizzdawg wrote:
Ok thanks, but if it is defending an objective other than heart of the empire, can it take damage for those objectives?


Well, why would it be able to? The Protect ability specifies the trait Corsucant; this means that a card would have to have that trait to be able to benefit from the Defense Fleet's ability.

Right now, Heart of the Empire is the only objective that has the Corsucant trait. (The various Sith Libraries do too, but in the currecnt game, enhancements can't take damage, so it's a moot point.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attacked objective has the trait of Coruscant (which it has the Protect keyword for), then, regardless of whether it's participating as a defender or not, you can re-assign damage assigned to that objective to CDF.

But, the Protect keyword does not allow you to assign more damage to CDF than CDF's remaining damage capacity (eg if HotE is assigned 4 damage, and CDF already has 3 damage, you can only re-assign 2 of HotE's 4 damage to CDF).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Felipe Lopez
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
PBrennan wrote:
If the attacked objective has the trait of Coruscant (which it has the Protect keyword for), then, regardless of whether it's participating as a defender or not, you can re-assign damage assigned to that objective to CDF.

But, the Protect keyword does not allow you to assign more damage to CDF than CDF's remaining damage capacity (eg if HotE is assigned 4 damage, and CDF already has 3 damage, you can only re-assign 2 of HotE's 4 damage to CDF).

What he said, adding that shield tokens ARE NOT counted for remaining damage capacity. If CDF has 2 shields and 3 damage, it's remaining damage capacity(damage it can protect up to) is still 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Small rider to this ... a card is only allowed to ever have one shield on it (rules pg 23). The only time it can have more than one is if an effect is played that specifically overrides this rule (eg Our Most Desperate Hour).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Blakeney
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait.

Protect can absorb damage dealt to OBJECTIVES? I was under the impression that it only applied to UNIT damage..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hal Martin
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Love my Oilers!
badge
I miss my boy :(
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, protect takes damage for the type of card it is able to protect. That may be characters, droids, and in case of the CDF, a location, Corruscant. The protect ability doesn't matter what the card type is, if it is able to protect the card type, and that card can/will take damage, then it can take that damage.

So in the case of CDF, it can take the damage Heart of the Empire can take, because it matches the type that CDF protects.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.