Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The defense text on the card That was close! reads:

You may discard this card to avoid an Attack or Ambush. Choose another player. That foe may also avoid the Attack or Ambush. Draw a card for EACH player who avoided the Attack or Ambush this way.

Now, this card is played as a defense to prevent damage to yourself, OK. After that you choose _A_ player who can avoid the attack as well (a group attack?) Then you draw a card per player that avoided the attack THAT way. So...

in a 4 player game you could in case of a group ambush prevent the ambush on yourself and ONE other player resulting in two cards drawn.

In case of an ambush on yourself you can prevent it and draw a card.

Is that correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes, you got it!

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Nanthachack
United States
Freehold
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Unsorted components are unwelcome.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Speaking of this card, it also says the foe may also avoid the attack or ambush. Does this mean that player has a choice whether or not to accept your help?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
LunarKnite wrote:
Speaking of this card, it also says the foe may also avoid the attack or ambush. Does this mean that player has a choice whether or not to accept your help?


Correct. They can refuse the help if they don't want it.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E.M. Proc
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So as our play has gotten more competitive, we get have gotten more stringent on the timing of cards playing and cards resolving...

So... We have been playing that group ambushes also have to resolve in order...

Let's assume a four player game... Player A defeats the current archenemy, and there's a group ambush... Player B can't defend and takes the attack... Player C plays "That Was Close!"... We've been playing that player C cannot go back and choose Player B as able to defend, only players D and A...

Taking this to the extreme example, if Player A has "That Was Close!" and defeats the archenemy, he doesn't have to worry about sparing another player because when it gets back to him to defend all the other players would have gone already...

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.