John Shanahan
United States
Quincy
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
How's that for a subject line?

Yet another newbie question.

Villain card with an end-of-turn effect that tells you to play the top card of the villain deck. So you do. The card that comes into play also has an end-of-turn effect. Does that second card's effect happen in the current end-of-turn phase, or the next time around?

We played it as happening right away. Were we correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shanahan wrote:
How's that for a subject line?

Yet another newbie question.

Villain card with an end-of-turn effect that tells you to play the top card of the villain deck. So you do. The card that comes into play also has an end-of-turn effect. Does that second card's effect happen in the current end-of-turn phase, or the next time around?

We played it as happening right away. Were we correct?

Yes, it is still end of turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fba827 fba827
United States
Potomac
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:

Yes, it is still end of turn.


What ColtsFan76 said is accurate -- you're still in that phase of the turn and therefore it happens.

note this same rule works in your favor occasionally too.. but, yeah, some villains are a major pain because of that very rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The easiest way to brain this is to line up cards for the Environment/Villain left to right(and break into rows) in the order they come out. Then when executing you go left->right Top->Bottom just like reading. If a card brings out a new card it goes at the end, which means it is now a part of the 'text' and must be activated when you get to it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Shanahan
United States
Quincy
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadrach wrote:
The easiest way to brain this is to line up cards for the Environment/Villain left to right(and break into rows) in the order they come out. Then when executing you go left->right Top->Bottom just like reading. If a card brings out a new card it goes at the end, which means it is now a part of the 'text' and must be activated when you get to it.


We definitely do this. It has the added bonus of getting to physically shift cards when you wallop something and take it out of play. :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.