Subject: Mathematics behind drawing objectives rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David C.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, I give up...

Although I studied Mathematics for teaching in Elementary school and I had some courses concerning probabilities (like 6 to 7 years ago), I cant wrap my brain around the draw of a specific set of objectives.

Since I never had to use those formulars after the University, I can't remember all the necessary stuff. I'm sure some of you can help me to figure it out.

-----
Questions:
I will use colors instead of objective set numbers, so its easier to identify how the group is put together.

(1)
My objectives contain: 7 blue, 3 red

Its obvious that you will draw one of the blue objectives no matter what, but:
Questions:
1) Whats the probability to draw all 3 red objectives?
2) Whats the probability to draw only blue objectives?
3) What about the possible combinations of objective sets?

(2)
My objectives contain: 3 blue, 3 red, 4 green.

1) Whats the probability to draw at least one of each?
2) Whats the probability to draw only 2 colors?
3) Whats the probability to draw only 4 greens?

-----
Important:
I would really, really like to understand the mathematics and logic behind it, so please dont just hand me the percentages to my questions as they are examples for possible combinations.
I would rather like you to try to explain me the necessary formulars (or at least tell me which ones to use), so I can try to figure the % out on my own in the future.

Thanks in advance,

David

Edits
*edit* I'm sure there are sites out there for Deckbuilding Games which explain the Mathematics behind deckbuilding. If you know such an adress, please let me know. Maybe that would be already help enough.

*edit2* In this thread there is one guy at least explaining some of the stuff he calculates. But as I dont know what theory he uses behind it, I cant translate it to other combinations.

----