Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Dawn of the Zeds (Second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob confused by card #58 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Clarke
United Kingdom
Norfolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Been waiting ages for the second edition to appear and now finally have a copy in my hands - I have one silly question:

To play the quick-play and tutorial scenarios, I pull out the cards marked with the blue crescent and shuffle as per instructions - however, neither set-up mentions what to do with card #58.

Any help?

P.S. Does anyone else's 'National Guard Arrives' card have lines on the back making it stand out from the other event cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe Heilmann
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi from Germany,

both the quick play and the tutorial scenarios actually do not use the National Guard Arrives card. Play through all the given Event cards, then check the victory conditions (they are identical for both scenarios).
Survivors count!


Cheers
U.L.H.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Clarke
United Kingdom
Norfolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
Thanks for your reply. It's card #58, the 'Brains' card that is confusing me...

Apologies, just added about #59 at the bottom of my post...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe Heilmann
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

may I ask then what the problem with the "Brains!" card is?
By the way, there are four of those "nasty" cards.


Cheers
U.L.H.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Clarke
United Kingdom
Norfolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When setting up, you construct the event deck as follows:

Find all cards marked with 'crescent' symbol
Take out all 'red' events (with the four bites)
Shuffle together certain of the red events with the others.

The rules give the event card numbers to be shuffled in, but does not mention what to do with Brains card #58. Do I leave it out?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe Heilmann
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi from Germany,

here we go.

That's what the rules say:

Creating the Event Draw pile:
a) Gather all of the Event cards with the icon in the upper right hand corner.

There are exactly 24 cards showing this symbol.
Card 58 does not show the crescent. Do not use it for the set up and the game.

b) Set aside Card #19, Card #29, and all Red Cards, leaving 16 Event cards.
The 6 Red cards are #25, #47, #48, #49, #50, and #57.

This should provide the answer for your question.
Card#58 is not part of the first level games of DotZ.
Enjoy the fact that there are only 6 nasty cards in the Event card deck.


Cheers
U.L.H.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Clarke
United Kingdom
Norfolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
Thanks for your reply. I'm more confused now - my card #58 DOES have a blue crescent on it. Do I have a rogue card?

Actually, it would need a blue crescent on it as it is used in the classic scenario.

But, you are absolutely right, the rules text mentions specifically which cards to use, so I will leave it to one side. I was just a bit confused that the rules do not state to leave out this single card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Uwe Heilmann
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hi,

no problem to help.

But I have to admit, it is a little bit hard to follow your "next" problem.

Please, see page 6 of the rules book.
It lists all the cards to be used for the classic scenario. The parameter "blue crescent" is not mentioned there at all. But all cards to be used are specifically mentioned. Just keep the 11 "tough" ones off the deck.


Cheers
U.L.H.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Meier
United States
Durango
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul, you are not insane - I see the exact thing you are seeing. I suspect you are using the quick set up guide that came in 2nd edition and it might have a disconnect with the rule book. I don't have the rule book in front of me, so I can't verify it.

I just put #58 aside like you did; probably doesn't matter much for the tutorial scenario. zombie
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victory Point Games
United States
California
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul,

Thank you for pointing this out. I am almost positive that card #58 should not actually have a blue crescent icon (that was probably my mistake, so I do apologize for the confusion this caused), so the red cards in the Quickplay and Tutorial set ups are correct.

I'll see about changing this next week and adding it to the errata. :)

Thanks,

Noelle
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Clarke
United Kingdom
Norfolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow - thanks to everyone for their help - I will leave the card to one side. I played the tutorial scenario and the 'Brains' cards already in the deck are quite devastating enough!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James D
Ireland
Cork
Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Delighted that this thread is here as I just had the same set-up problem. Have left out the offending card. To answer your other question, no my national guard card has no distinguishing marks on the back. Phew.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gardner
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My deck looks fine and normal, but there is a Brains card in the Quick Play scenario and that is #25.

The first directive indicates you advance the Infection Level by +1 for every two Chaos markers in play. In the Quick Play, though, I don't believe the concept of Chaos markers is in use, so I skipped that first directive.

But then you carry out the rest of that nasty card and I'm glad to hear that's the only one of them in Quick Play!

--David (playing Quick Play, of course... just learning game, halfway through)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.