Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dominion: Hinterlands» Forums » Rules

Subject: Masquerade and Fool's Gold rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Edward Montgomery
United States
Moraga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is acquiring a card via Masquerade considered "gaining"?

If I Militia my opponent down to just Colonies and Provinces and then force him to pass a Province to another opponent can I react with my Fool's Gold?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Edge wrote:
Is acquiring a card via Masquerade considered "gaining"?

If I Militia my opponent down to just Colonies and Provinces and then force him to pass a Province to another opponent can I react with my Fool's Gold?

No - with Masquerade you pass the card, it is not gained.

Intrigue rules wrote:
"Pass" - when a player passes a card to another player, he places that card face down on the table between himself and the other player. The receiving player then takes the card from the table and puts it in his hand. A passed card is not revealed to the other players. A passed card is not considered to be trashed or discarded by the player passing it and it is not considered to be gained by the player receiving it.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Pawlak
Poland
near Poznań
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gaining is only from the Supply (unless otherwise specified). Masquerade "passes" you a card, not "gains".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
... and it is highly unlikely that a player will discard non-Victory cards first when you play the Militia.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.