Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Super Simple Question about Victory Points rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tara Leigh
msg tools
I am embarrassed to ask this question, but we want to play right. I can't believe I can't find the answer to this somewhere!

Anyway, when you upgrade a settlement to a city, do you add 2 VPs to your current score, or 1? The way it is written in rules to me doesn't quite spell out if it is 2 points for the addition, or 2 points cumulative (cause you already got 1 point for the settlement, so you would just add 1 to your score).

Thank you!
Tara
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Kahnt
United States
Youngstown
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
It's fun, it's healthy, it's good exercise. The kids will just love it. And we put a little sand inside to make the experience more pleasant.
badge
You know, they say there was a man who jumped from the forty-FIFTH floor? But that's another story...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ts0104 wrote:
I am embarrassed to ask this question, but we want to play right. I can't believe I can't find the answer to this somewhere!

Anyway, when you upgrade a settlement to a city, do you add 2 VPs to your current score, or 1? The way it is written in rules to me doesn't quite spell out if it is 2 points for the addition, or 2 points cumulative (cause you already got 1 point for the settlement, so you would just add 1 to your score).

Thank you!
Tara


Scores are cumulative: 1 point for settlement then two for city... not three.

-DK
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Cordeiro
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cities are worth 2 points, and settlements are worth 1. When you upgrade the settlement to a city, you're replacing a 1-point token with a 2-point token, leaving you with a net of 1 more point than you had before.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tara Leigh
msg tools
Thanks! I must just be dense about this! So, if you start out with 1 settlement and 1 city, you start out with 3 points, right? Then, when you upgrade that settlement to a city, you now have 4 points.

Surprisingly, I understand the rest of the game blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew the Ambo
New Zealand
Hamilton
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.

Enjoy the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.