Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Iran card: "Select and test" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob H.
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hello folks.

Quick question on "select and test" mechanism. Apologies if it was already posted elsewhere...

When playing a card (like "Iran") which specifies "select and test" can you select a marked country, and then test it? While the rules state that you can only test unmarked countries, 4.9.4 also reads that when you have "select and test" a marked or unmarked country can be tested. This would mean that you could select a islamic country and test it, bringing to neutral poor or fair automatically. This seems completely wild to me, since, if US player holds iran card on turn one, he could simply select Afghanistan and test it, removing islamic power from that country immediately. (Or, indeed, the jihadist player could swing an ally good country to a poor or fair neutral country).

I feel like from a rule standpoint you could "select and test" any country, but from a gameplay standpoint, this makes a few cards incredibly powerful and makes the game quite swingy... After all, it takes a huge expenditure of cards (and manpower for jihadist) to bring a country either to good or islamic rule.

So what's the answer?

Thanks a lot!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joris
Netherlands
Haarlem
Noord-Holland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is in the rules...
"Test" does nothing if the government status (or whatever it is called) is already known. So you cannot "test" a good country to fair or poor. When you test a good country nothing happens, it stays good.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob H.
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.