Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Byzantium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Field army and levy interaction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have understood, that a field army and levy can never defend the same city at the same time, not even, if three players are involved.

So for example, if my byzantine city is attacked by the arab army of player A, and player B has a byzantine field army in place and does not retreat, then player A fights against player B. If player B is defeated, then afterwards, I am not allowed to use my town levy to fight player A's arab army. Fair enough.

Now imagine the same example than above, but the attacked city is Constantinople and I am the current emperor. Then again, I am not allowed to defend Constantinople with my town levies after player B is defeated, right? The same is valid, if it's not player B's army beside Constantinople, but my own?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Skellett
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
I have understood, that a field army and levy can never defend the same city at the same time, not even, if three players are involved.

So for example, if my byzantine city is attacked by the arab army of player A, and player B has a byzantine field army in place and does not retreat, then player A fights against player B. If player B is defeated, then afterwards, I am not allowed to use my town levy to fight player A's arab army. Fair enough.

Now imagine the same example than above, but the attacked city is Constantinople and I am the current emperor. Then again, I am not allowed to defend Constantinople with my town levies after player B is defeated, right? The same is valid, if it's not player B's army beside Constantinople, but my own?




I believe you are correct. There are a couple of questions answered in the FAQ on this.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Temple
United States
Lynnwood
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, it looks like Martin finally answered this in an email, and you CAN use your levies if it's not your army that defended!

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/512797/use-levies-after-...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.