Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Innovation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quantam Theory question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Chappelear
United States
Kensington
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
In my second game, I had a quick question about the dogma for Quantum Theory, which reads:
[Clock]: You may return up to two cards from your hand. If you return two, draw a 10 and then draw and score a 10.

So, presumably you can score either 10 you just drew? Or do you have to score the second one? In other words, is the "draw-and-score" a single action?

Such a great game...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Morris
United States
Wallingford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two distinct actions here:

1) Draw a 10.
2) Draw and score a 10, i.e., take a 10 from the draw piles and score it.

Thus, you have to keep the first 10 you draw and then pull a second 10 and score that one. Otherwise, you could score a third, unrelated, 10 that you have in your hand, or elsewhere.

O
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
"Draw and score" is a single action: Draw that card, and immediately score it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Willie Illie
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Otherwise it would have read, "draw two 10s, then score a 10 from your hand," or something similar.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brook Gentlestream
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dcclark wrote:
"Draw and score" is a single action: Draw that card, and immediately score it.


This.

It's listed in the rulebook somewhere that whenever "draw and" appears, it's always referring to take an action with the card just drew.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.