Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Metz
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think if any game is suited to play by forum, this would be it. Any thoughts on how such a thing would be accomplished? I've never moderated or participated in a PBF before, but with enough advice and encouragement, I would be willing to moderate or if there's a volunteer for such a task, would absolutely participate.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JASON MAXWELL
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this is easily doable, Brad. Richard may know something about play by forum. I'll ask him. But either way you can sign me up to play as well as help you figure out how to run it. I have no experience with playing by forum but I don't think it would be difficult. -Jason
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you would need one neutral "game master" (to borrow an RPG term) to keep track of who has which card/token and private message the players with that information.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Metz
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah that's what I've Ben thinking in the past couple days as well.

I would likely act as moderator and hold the master deck. We could all vote on the detective, and I could then do the set up for the crime and scene. From there, I could PM hand contents for the starting clue drop. Following that I would PM all card draws and clue tokens. Players would PM me values of clue tokens to be placed on relevant turns and we might be able to implement die rolls in the forum itself to allow for clue placement and the playing of ace cards.

Do you think it might be wise to have 2 threads? One "in character" thread with the narration (and maybe polling to play it pulp fiction tales style). and one OOC for just a mechanical description of the turn and die rolls?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John