Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Must the runner match a trace if they have the link? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Hinkes
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the runner encounters a trace to which they have enough link to match without paying any credits, must they match the trace, or can they purposely fail?

Example: Whirlpool -> Caduceus (runner has 2 link) -> certain death...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Runner does not have to SPEND to match the trace value established by the Corporation if they are willing to suffer the 'if successful' clause of the trace.

But their base link is their base link, and if the Corp doesn't spend over the Runners base link, the Trace will auto-fail.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arto H
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I would say must match the trace. There are no options to lower your base link in the rule book or making base link optional. So trace fails Corp trace fails in that situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TK Number 3
Canada
Edmonton
AB
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rulebook says you check base link when initiating a trace, and that is not a scaleable number. In the same way that a corp can't adjust the base trace strenth of a subroutine (ie, lower it for Sherlock against Noise).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.