Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hangar Bay Action is 'launch yourself in a viper, then take one action'.

When you're in a viper, you can use your action to shoot or move. The rulebook doesn't actually say 'perform another movement step' as such in regard to that move, so I'm not sure if a pilot can use this action to discard a card and move to Colonial One. Essentially, is this legal:

Player Movement step: moves to Hangar Bay.
Player Action Step: Launch in Viper, take one action: discard card, move to Press Room.

Eco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, when you're in your Viper you can use your Action to Activate your Viper. Activation can be attacking or moving (with your Viper). So no movement as such, other than what you can do while remaining in your Viper.

Edit: By the way, that move wouldn't make much sense, anyway. Why not just move straight to Colonial One? It'll cost you one card regardless. And then you would be able to actually taken an Action aboard Colonial One.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
You can only move from a Viper to a ship during your Movement Step (see the main rulebook, "Piloting Vipers" on page 26 where it notes that this is part of your Movement Step). If you activate a Viper to move, you are merely moving around in space (see "Activating Vipers" on page 25 and note that the pilot is given the option to activate his viper on page 26). So what you describe is not legal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
By Meow Command!
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you cannot do that.

Why would you want to? If you want to go to Colonial One, just go to Colonial One for your movement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
oriecat wrote:
No, you cannot do that.

Why would you want to? If you want to go to Colonial One, just go to Colonial One for your movement.


I had the same reaction. But on thinking about it I did come up with something. While in the base game it makes no sense, if playing with Exodus there are two fairly good reasons to want to do this that came to mind. The first would be if you are CAG and wished to use the free activation then be ready for an XO on Colonial One, and the second would be if you wish to encounter an Ally on the Hangar Deck but (again) wish to be elsewhere for XO on a following turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan M
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The rulebook doesn't say 'perform another movement step' because you're not performing another movement step. You're using your action step to activate a viper, which either moves the viper or attacks a cylon ship. Since it is an Action rather than a movement, no, you cannot get to Colonial One that way. You can only land your viper during your movement step.

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Battlestar_Galactica_FAQ#...

Even if it were legal, why move to the hangar deck? The Viper wouldn't stay in space- when you move from a viper it goes back to the hangar deck. You'd be better off moving directly to the Press Room by discarding a card, and then assuming that was your intent, activating the Press Room.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jsciv wrote:
You can only move from a Viper to a ship during your Movement Step (see the main rulebook, "Piloting Vipers" on page 26 where it notes that this is part of your Movement Step). If you activate a Viper to move, you are merely moving around in space (see "Activating Vipers" on page 25 and note that the pilot is given the option to activate his viper on page 26). So what you describe is not legal.
FYI to every1, You can also move from viper to ship (Gally, C1, or Peggy w/Peg exp) if you have a "move", like from an XO.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thestor thestor
Germany
flag msg tools
Is the intention to save a card that you have to discard when moving normally around ships? Doesn't it always cost a card to move between ships? Can you land vipers only on Galactica?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thestor wrote:
Is the intention to save a card that you have to discard when moving normally around ships? Doesn't it always cost a card to move between ships? Can you land vipers only on Galactica?
u leave your viper and board any location (cept for Sickbay, Brig, and cylon locations). the viper gets returned to th reserves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter
Netherlands
Tilburg
flag msg tools
Good intentions are no substitute for a good education.
badge
I take my fun very seriously.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
FYI to every1, You can also move from viper to ship (Gally, C1, or Peggy w/Peg exp) if you have a "move", like from an XO.

True, so I assume that if a Pilot uses an action to move (which he can), that is not actually a move -- it is still an action, which is used to move. Basically, the word "move" is used in three different ways:
(1) The Movement Step, which you can use to relocate.
(2) The "Move" part of an executive order when you use it to "move (relocate) and act".
(3) For a pilot, an action that you use to relocate.
The conclusion that we can draw from all the comments is that you can only use a "move" to land a viper in the first and second way.

This feels a lot like messed-up ruling, not foreseen by the designers when writing the rulebook. It would have been so much easier (and have so little impact) if they would just have allowed a pilot to land as a move OR as an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everyone. I was aware that it is simpler and easier to simply move from Hangar Deck to Press Room by just discarding a card during my movement step, but thanks for the mutliple reminders

The Unofficial FAQ sums up the situation nicely.

I asked out of nothing more than idle speculation, btw.

Eco
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Flyboy Connor wrote:
Basically, the word "move" is used in three different ways:
(1) The Movement Step, which you can use to relocate.
(2) The "Move" part of an executive order when you use it to "move (relocate) and act".
(3) For a pilot, an action that you use to relocate.


I'd phrase it slightly differently:

1) In your Movement Step, you get a "Movement", which defaults to a "Move" but there are things from Pegasus that let you use "Movement" for other things
2) The "Move" given by the default Movement Step or optionally given by an Executive Order or State of Emergency
3) The Viper Move that's one of the options when activating a Viper (including the one you're piloting)
4) The forced move from various game effects ("send a player to {Sickbay|the Brig}") - including the effect of passing a Brig check.

Obviously #1 is closely linked to #2, and, for a Pilot manning a Viper, #2 and #3 have a significant overlap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ecosmith Ecosmith
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a follow up, if you're piloting a viper at the stRt of your turn, can you (in your movement step) discard a card and move to another viper in a different space sector zone?

Eco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ecosmith wrote:
As a follow up, if you're piloting a viper at the stRt of your turn, can you (in your movement step) discard a card and move to another viper in a different space sector zone?


No, once a Viper is in space there is no way to get into it other than returning it to the hangar bay and launching yourself with it. So, no "jumping" between Vipers either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.