Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Overlord start cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kelly Hayes
United States
La Mirada
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
How many cards does the Overlord get when he starts the first turn of any quest or encounter?
Does he get, for example, 4 cards in a 4 hero game or does he get the 4 cards plus 1 for a total of 5, on his first turn, in a 4 hero game?
The rules aren't very clear on this. I know he draws 1 card at the beginning of each turn, but does this include his first turn? The rules in the section on travel talks about the Overlord starting with a number of cards equal to the number of hero's, then starting his turn with only those cards.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
The Overlord will begin with cards equal to the number of heroes. Then at the start of each Overlord turn, he will draw one card.

So in your example in a four player game, he will begin with four. At the start of his first turn (assuming none were played during the Heroes' turn), he will draw one more card and have five in hand.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You draw your OL cards prior to resolving Travel, because Travel Events can allow the heroes to discard your cards (or you can draw extra).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.