Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Lost Battles» Forums » Rules

Subject: VP calculation for suprised armies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that there's a handicap of "1 point for each of your initial units if your army was surprised". What does this mean exactly?

For example, in Plataea, the Spartans are surprised and start with 2 units on map (= initial units?) and 18 undeployed.
Does this mean that the Spartans get +2 VPs? This is counterintuitive, in the sense that the more units start on-map, i.e. the better the starting position is, the more VPs they get?!

Or do you get the VPs for the ENEMY initial units? (i.e. in this case 4 VPs for the 4 Persian units on the map)

Grateful for your confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Osnabrück
flag msg tools
                                                             oooo                             ooo                             o    o                                      o     
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pmiranda wrote:
The rules state that there's a handicap of "1 point for each of your initial units if your army was surprised". What does this mean exactly?

For example, in Plataea, the Spartans are surprised and start with 2 units on map (= initial units?) and 18 undeployed.
Does this mean that the Spartans get +2 VPs?

No, they get 20 points as the initial number of units is 20
The number of units initially deployed is 2, but this does not affect the handicap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Sabin
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Yes, thanks Thomas. The idea is that the more units that a surprised army has to deploy (at no more than 4 units per turn), the higher the handicap bonus it should receive.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.