Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Surrounding a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Billaud
France
La roche sur yon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gentlemen,

Have you ever try to encircle a card with a PC marker and then move on it.

If you draw a placement that put the enemy unit adjacent or at max LOS, the enemy unit cannot be placed and then the PC marker is removed.

I found it very usefull to clear an "open" card.

I don't think I misunderstand the rules, do I ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher
Belgium
De Panne
Bachten de Kupe
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess this would work (except for mines and incoming), but you'll have to clear 8 cards before, which will most likely cost you time (and casualties) anyway.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i've think about it sometimes... but i feel like i'm cheating the game. modest

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Phillips
United States
Montague
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Be very tough to pull that off without triggering other contacts... best laid plans and all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
calpurnio1973 wrote:
i've think about it sometimes... but i feel like i'm cheating the game. modest



They surrender, like everybody would once surrounded this way :-). Note that you need to deploy at least 8 assault teams to do this, maybe more depending on LOS.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Billaud
France
La roche sur yon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
teufen wrote:
I guess this would work (except for mines and incoming), but you'll have to clear 8 cards before, which will most likely cost you time (and casualties) anyway.


Not necessary, in scenarios where you have to clear several rows, it doesn't change anything.

You have to manoeuvre more, which is always good.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Herold
United States
Rochester
Minnesota
flag msg tools
I just did this today as i was clearing my very last card. Drew LMG under foxholes--placement: same card!

I only had to suffer his fire for 1 turn and it was just a pin.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The other Euro guy
United Kingdom
Macclesfield
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought units deployed on closer cards (including possibly same card) if the card(s) at max LOS are invalid?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.