Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unopposed Challenges, Consequences, "Defending Opponent" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Crunchy Bits
msg tools
On our third play-through, we ran into some confusion regarding the rules for challenges.

The consequences for losing a challenge read thusly (italics mine):

Quote:
Military Challenge: The defending opponent must choose and kill ...
Intrigue Challenge: The defending opponent must discard, at random, a number of cards ...
Power Challenge: The defending opponent takes a number of power counters ...


So far so good. The confusion comes from this single sentence in the rules (again italics mine):

Quote:
Your opponent must declare at least 1 defending character in order to be considered defending against a challenge.




So here's the question: Does this mean that the loser of an unopposed challenge does not suffer the usual consequences of a challenge, since the rules state that having no defenders means you are not considered defending and are therefore not a "defending opponent"?

We played it this way, and it made for a remarkably dull game. It did not feel right to us, but seems rather unambiguous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Kassel
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
He suffers all the consequences and additionally the attacker gains one power for an unopposed challenge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The confusion arises because of multiple meanings of the word "Defending".

Rules, Page 15:


Unopposed Challenges

During the “Resolve” step of any challenge, if
the attacker wins the challenge, and the defender
had a total STR of 0 (or no defending characters),
then the attacker claims 1 bonus power for his
or her House from the power pool. This bonus
power is in addition to all other effects of winning
a challenge.


You can be a defending PLAYER even if you have no defending CHARACTERS. All other effects of winning (or losing) a challenge happen even if you have no defending CHARACTERS.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crunchy Bits
msg tools
andy.rice@att.net wrote:
The confusion arises because of multiple meanings of the word "Defending".


That's what I figured it would come down to. The writer of the rules over-thought things, I think.

I wonder what the point is of the "to be considered defending" sentence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because an "undefended" challenge is an "unopposed" challenge, resulting in a bonus power for the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crunchy Bits
msg tools
If so, it's redundant and confusing. Perhaps they'll strike it a reprint.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
United States
Vista
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
waykreid wrote:
If so, it's redundant and confusing. Perhaps they'll strike it a reprint.

Do not take air into your lungs and retain it for any length of time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crunchy Bits
msg tools
Duly noted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.