Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KTG17
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know GW isnt the most popular gaming company around here anymore, but I've played more games from them than I have anyone, and one of them was Warhammer 40k, even though it isnt my favorite game from them (Epic, Man O War, and Warhammer Quest rank higher to me).

There have been six editions of 40k, and I started playing when it was Rogue Trader, and quickly got irritated with the rules all over the place in multiple books, White Dwarf articles, and so on. But when 40k 2nd edition came out, I was really excited. Finally could play with game with everything I need in one box. My friends and I played this version for some time until I moved, and while we had some issues with the rules, we still clocked a lot of time in it, and never felt like the game was too hero based since we typically played with a lot of squads anyway. But I lived the mission cards, strategy cards, etc. You really felt liek you got a lot in that box set. And the army lists were great to start out with.

I got out of gaming for awhile, but then tried out 40k 3rd edition with a new set of friends. I considered myself old school at the time (lol), but grew to like the new minis. The rules themselves though, I dont want to call them bland, but I could see what GW was doing to try and make the game quicker, as our old 2nd edition games could take 4-5 hours to play. But we lost interest in the game.

I bought 4th edition when it came out, and like the premise of the box set with the scenerios but aside from the terrain, felt the Space Marine and Tyranids were lame, and even after buying the supplement "The Battle Rages On" I lost interest. That was the last 40k game I bought. And I really don't know what has changed, if there was any reason to.