Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
120 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 

BattleCON: War of Indines» Forums » Play By Forum

Subject: Seth versus Shihai rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seth - 20 Life
Discard 1: Wyrding Dash
Discard 2: Fool's Burst

Shihai - 20 Life
Discard 1: Illegal Soul Strike
Discard 2: Taboo Grasp
Finisher: At Any Cost

Note, we will be using the new Burst and the latest Seth rules:

Seth: Seth’s Beyond Eyes ability now triggers during the Reveal step before any clashes occur. If there is a clash after Seth guesses correctly, Seth keeps his +2 Power and Priority boost even after his opponent chooses a new base that doesn't match his prediction.

oCoooSo

Seth: Blue
Shihai: Purple
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe use a "C" for Seth Cremmul?
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Just to make sure: Nate, are you up to date with the wording of Shihai's cards? Forbidden being a direct movement und Illegal switching discard 1 and 2? Anyway it's discussed in the playtest thread in the Outcast forums.
I'll be sending in my first attack pair in a few moments.
I wonder if I should call it attack triplet...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
Just to make sure: Nate, are you up to date with the wording of Shihai's cards? Forbidden being a direct movement und Illegal switching discard 1 and 2? Anyway it's discussed in the playtest thread in the Outcast forums.
I'll be sending in my first attack pair in a few moments.
I wonder if I should call it attack triplet...


I believe I have the most recent wordings, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BEAT 1

oCoooSo

REVEAL
Shihai
Forbidden Dash OR Shot

Forbidden Dash
Range: N/A
Power: N/A
Priority: 9

After Activating: Move 1, 2 or 3 spaces. If you switch sides with an opponent during this move, that opponent's attacks do not hit you this beat.
After Activating: Move directly to any unoccupied space.

Seth
name "Drive"

Compelling Drive

Range: 1
Power: 3
Priority: 4

Before Activating: Move the nearest opponent 1 space.
Before Activating: Advance 1 or 2 spaces.
After Activating: Move the nearest opponent 1 space.

REVEAL
None.

START OF BEAT
None.

ACTIVE PLAYER - SHIHAI
Dashes over Sheth then warps to the mid-field.

REACTIVE PLAYER - SETH
Performing a magical dance, he swaps locations with Shihai.

END OF BEAT
None

oSoCooo

Seth - 20 Life
Discard 1: Compelling Drive
Discard 2: Wydring Dash

Shihai - 20 Life
Discard 1: Forbidden Dash
Discard 2: Illegal Soul Strike
Finisher: At Any Cost

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Forbidden Dash
Range: N/A
Power: N/A
Priority: 9

After Activating: Move 1, 2 or 3 spaces. If you switch sides with an opponent during this move, that opponent's attacks do not hit you this beat.
After Activating: Move directly to any unoccupied space.

___________________________________________________

First, I'll move directly behind Seth. Then I'll advance 2 spaces, ending in the middle of the arena.

Hmm, I was expecting Vanishing Drive because I had no way of damaging you. With Flawless Strike I would have ended up trading 3 for 1 with you.
All in all you clearly had the stronger options beat 1. Let's hope that changes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Applied, Seth's activation now then next beat.

FYI, I'm out of town today (so probably won't be able to update until tomorrow afternoon).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll pull Shihai 1, advance 1 to switch sides with her, then push her 1.

oSoCooo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fully updated, next beat folks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Beat 2 attack triplet sent in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BEAT 2
oSoCooo

REVEAL
Shihai
Flawless Burst OR Shot

Seth
name "Shot"
Mimic's Burst

Range: 2-3
Power: 4
Priority: 1

Whenever the opponent moves this turn, Seth moves in the same direction, maintaining range if possible.

Start of Beat: Retreat 1 or 2 spaces.

REVEAL
Shihai selects Flawless Burst

START OF BEAT
Retreating all around!

ACTIVE PLAYER - SHIHAI
Whiff and step forward 1 space.

REACTIVE PLAYER - SETH
Whiff.

END OF BEAT
None.

oSoooCo

Seth - 20 Life
Discard 1: Mimic's Shot
Discard 2: Compelling Drive

Shihai - 20 Life
Discard 1: Flawless Burst
Discard 2: Forbidden Dash
Finisher: At Any Cost
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nailed it. I love Seth.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
I choose
Flawless Burst
Range: 2-3
Power: 3
Priority: 2

Start of Beat: Loose 1 life, if you are not the active player.
Start of Beat: Retreat 1 or 2 spaces.
Before Activating: Advance up to 1 space.

I will retreat 1 space at the Start of the Beat.
After Seth retreats 2 spaces, I will advance 1 space making us both end up in our starting positions of beat 1.

I wonder when the first damage of the match will be dealt.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Beat 3 attack triplet sent in.
Please disregard in case that Seth does not retreat 2 spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:

I wonder when the first damage of the match will be dealt.



...I would imagine it will happen this beat when my Burst out-Prioritizes yours thanks to my correct Beyond Eyes call--I retreat 1 space, use Mimic's to follow your Start of Beat movement, then hit you for 6 and stun you.

Unless I'm missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
You are missing something. You didn't guess correctly. I played Burst, not Shot. I select the base before reveal effects occur.
You will find it extremely hard to get off a correct guess unless it is in a situation where it does not matter. But you can effectively deny me from choosing the base you guessed.
So far I think we are pretty much evenly matched, with Seth having a slight advantage. Your ranged options are so much more powerful than mine. I'll have to see how I fare in close quarters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Now that this is cleared up, will you retreat 2 spaces?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
Now that this is cleared up, will you retreat 2 spaces?


That depends. I apparently didn't bring my cards with me today, so I have to double-check: is Seth's Mimic move a "may" effect? Can I choose to not copy your Start of Beat movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Nope. You have to maintain range if possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate K
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That being the case, it makes more sense for me to retreat 2 spaces, which I believe will either end the beat like this:

SooooCo

or this, if you advance 1 space:

oSoooCo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beat updated, board position:

oSoooCo

Let's get some pain on!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
It's actually mirrored, but that doesn't really matter. The result is the same.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
It's actually mirrored, but that doesn't really matter. The result is the same.


FIXED!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
What are we waiting for?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessey
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
I also purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
badge
I purchased this and do not know what to do with it!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
What are we waiting for?


Nate might have forgot, the Print and Play Contest he is running just crossed over from submission to voting period yesterday so he's probably be hung up with that. I'll poke him
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.