Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael James
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
Howdy all:

I'm an amateur go player, but I have always appreciated the simplistic beauty of the game!

I own a small inn in PEI canada, and I was thinking of placing a decorative Go board in one of my common areas that people can fiddle around with.

I have about $500 set aside for a board, stones and bowls. I know that's not a lot...but any ideas where I should start looking?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For that price range and goal, probably keep an eye on eBay for an antique Japanese floor board. There are some people who buy them from flea markets in Japan and then fly them over to the west for resale.

If you're looking for something to go on a coffee table, then you have more options. $500 goes a long way toward a nice table set.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Leach
United Kingdom
Godalming
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
You could buy one of the small board 'floor' boards that go for sale at Essen each year. I'm not sure how easily that could be shipped to you but I don't think they cost alot.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galaad Maal
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just out of interest, how would people answer this if the ideal marketplace was in England, not Canada?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Redden
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Nut'n honey
badge
"One of the key problems today is that politics is such a disgrace, good people don't go into government." - Donald Trump
mbmbmbmbmb
b a n j o wrote: