Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: how do computers and shield work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rodrigo Gonzalez Jeanneau
Peru
Lima
Lima
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hi! i have a quick question: how do computers and shields work? if let's say, i have a +2 computer and i roll a 4 and 5 (and the person i'm fighting with has no shield), does that mean i have two hits (4+2=6, 5+2+7)? do you add the +2 to ALL dice, or just to one die? i don't know why but we assumed at first that the computer bonus was only for one die, but we checked the rules thoroughly and it doesn't say anything like that. thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Trentini
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It works for all dices, including Missiles.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodrigo Gonzalez Jeanneau
Peru
Lima
Lima
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for the quick reply. obrigado
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Barber

Oregon
msg tools
mbmbmb
Another thing to remember is that shields are useless unless your opponent has a computer upgrade.

AKA 6 = always a hit, anything less is a miss anyway unless your opponent has a computer. In which case it is a computer vs shield battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Ivanesei
Romania
Bucuresti
flag msg tools
I should buy less games
badge
Stop looking at my avatar!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had the same confusion in the beginning.

Computers add +1(or+2) to every dice you roll.
Shields subtract 1 or 2 from every dice roll enhanced by computers. Shields don't work against rolls without computers.

For example:
Player A fights Player B and rolls 2 dice.

1. A has +2 computers, B doesn't have shields:
Rolls a 4 and a 5. 4+2=6HIT, 5+2=7HIT
2. A has +2 computers, B has +2 shields
Rolls a 4 and a 5. (4+2)-2=4MISS (5+2)-2=5MISS
3. A has no computers, B has +2 Shields.
6 is a hit always, shields have no effect

So if your opponent is not building computers, don't go shields. They won't provide any benefit. Go +hull instead.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And remember that shiled works only for ship which has it.
So if opponent has computer +2, you have Interceptor without shield and Cruiser with -2 shield, then roll for 4 is a miss for Cruiser, but it hits Interceptor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Cuentas
Peru
flag msg tools
Hi, i had another doubt. What about having two +2 computers in the same ship? do they add to be like a +4 computer?

And by saying that the computers add to each dice, that also means the number of cannons in a ship, right? i mean, if i have a double cannon (that is 2 dice in one ship) it adds to each cannon, not just to the ship as a whole.

Thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Ivanesei
Romania
Bucuresti
flag msg tools
I should buy less games
badge
Stop looking at my avatar!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each computer upgrade adds his rating to each dice you roll in combat for that ship.

So you have 2 computer upgrades with +2 and a cannon that lets you roll two dice: you roll both dice, and add 4 to each roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Every upgrade accumulate. More cannons = more dice. More computers = bigger bonus. More drives = faster move. Etc.
Accumulated value fo computers i added to every dice you roll for that ship.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.