Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Magical Glade and End of Turn question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lior Kiperman
Israel
Ramat Gan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From End of Turn rules:

If you did not play or discard any cards during your turn, you must discard at least one card now.

If I am currently at a magical glade and have a wound card in hand, I can end my turn and throw away the wound card. Will I have to discard a card at the end of turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The magical glade effect happens after you end your turn. So you must discard a card in this case.

However, you can always just discard the wound card (as your whole turn), and then throw it away from your discard pile (since the glade can "heal" wounds out of your discard pile).

So technically you:

1. "Rest" and discard a wound
2. End your Turn
3. Throw away a wound from your discard using the magic glade
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy Srinivasan
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Faranim wrote:
The magical glade effect happens after you end your turn. So you must discard a card in this case.

However, you can always just discard the wound card (as your whole turn), and then throw it away from your discard pile (since the glade can "heal" wounds out of your discard pile).

So technically you:

1. "Rest" and discard a wound
2. End your Turn
3. Throw away a wound from your discard using the magic glade

Actually to rest you must also discard at least one non-wound card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GreedyAlgorithm wrote:
Actually to rest you must also discard at least one non-wound card.


Unless you only have Wounds in hand. If you have only Wounds, then you can take a rest turn, discard one Wound from hand, heal it from the discard pile, and potentially repeat.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lior Kiperman
Israel
Ramat Gan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the End of Turn section of the rules, Magical Glade effect is before the part where you have to discard a card (the one mentioned above). Suppose you have a wound and 4 other cards that you wish to keep in your hand. You stay in the Magical Glade and throw away the wound. Do you have to discard a card after that?

Edit: Sorry, please move this thread to the Mage Knight Rules Forum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HealingAura wrote:
Suppose you have a wound and 4 other cards that you wish to keep in your hand. You stay in the Magical Glade and throw away the wound. Do you have to discard a card after that?


Yes. You didn't play or discard a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Faranim wrote:
The magical glade effect happens after you end your turn. So you must discard a card in this case.

However, you can always just discard the wound card (as your whole turn), and then throw it away from your discard pile (since the glade can "heal" wounds out of your discard pile).

So technically you:

1. "Rest" and discard a wound
2. End your Turn
3. Throw away a wound from your discard using the magic glade


That's "Slow Recovery", and can only be done if you have no non-wounds cards in hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emile de Maat
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
admin
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved Thread
Moved this thread from the The Lost Legion Rules forum to the Mage Knight Board Game Rules forum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.