Imagine this may have been asked a few times? I dont think the rules are clear on this we got this wrong on 1st play.
Phase 5 remove highest value plant
Phase 5 continue to remove highest value plant
- but only once at start of Step 2 remove the lowest. Why? Seems a bit clunky.
Phase 5 remove lowest value plant
- At start of Step 3 remove step 3 card and lowest value card leaving only 6 cards in market (no future market).
is this right? Cheers.
You have it correct. The removal of the lowest plant at the beginning of step 2 is really just a way to move the game along in the same way that you remove plants when a player builds to number of cities equal to the plant number.
Just to clarify the removal of plants at the start of a step takes place immediately the step starts, not waiting for phase 5 (this is probably what you mean anyway, but just to be clear).