Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Crusader Rex» Forums » Rules

Subject: Storming half-hits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1 Saracen 'A' block and 3 'B' blocks are storming a castle containing 1 Frank 'B' unit.

The Saracen 'A' block fires first. It scores 2 ordinary hits, which result in 1 half-hit on the Frank block.

The Frank block is thus reduced from 3 strength points to 2.5 points, as the rules say that:

'Half-hits carry forward from one combat round to the next, but not to the next Game Turn.' (Rule 7.11, Version 3.1, p.5).

This means that the Frank block (which, as the defender, fires before the Saracen 'B' stormers) now fires back at Strength 2 (ie, round 2.5 down to 2, rather than round back up to 3).

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane Peacock
United States
Stansbury Park
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
That tickles
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that it works like this:

Quote:
The Saracen 'A' block fires first. It scores 2 ordinary hits, which result in 1 half-hit on the Frank block.


Each hit = 1/2 hit. 2 ordinary hits = 1 hit. So the Frank block would take a total of 1 hit.

Quote:
This means that the Frank block (which, as the defender, fires before the Saracen 'B' stormers) now fires back at Strength 2 (ie, round 2.5 down to 2, rather than round back up to 3).


If the block had only suffered a 1/2 hit, it would still fire back at strength 3. The block is not rotated until it takes two 1/2 hits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Each hit = 1/2 hit. 2 ordinary hits = 1 hit. So the Frank block would take a total of 1 hit."

Absolutely right - sorry, I was being dreadfully careless there.


Now, to follow your example:

If the 3SP Frank DOES takes only a half-hit, you say that it is not yet rotated, so it fires back at 3SPs.

As half-hits carry over from one combat round to the next, this means presumably that one simply has to remember *which* block is thus affected? I had been rotating the block 45 degrees to keep an exact score.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane Peacock
United States
Stansbury Park
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
That tickles
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly. We also rotate the block 45 degrees to remember that it has taken a 1/2 hit, but it still fires with the higher number.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Haberman
United States
Painesville
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't need to remember which block it was, just that there is a half-hit. Then when the other half is hit, you can decide which block takes the hit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark has it right... the "half hit" is not block-specific.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MATTHEW SPRING
England
Truro
Cornwall
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chaps, I believe 2 consecutive half-hits must be applied to the same block:

From Version 3.1, p.6:


7.11 Double Defense

Blocks defending a castle have Double Defense (D2). This means that two hits are required to lose one step. Each hit is treated as a half-hit and the next hit must be taken on the same block.

Half-hits carry forward from one Combat Round to the next, but not to the next Game Turn. That is, a defending block recovers a half-hit after Combat Round 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.