Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

City of Remnants» Forums » Rules

Subject: Running Out Of Renown In The Renown Pool Midway Through Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there!
What happens when the renown pool runs out during the phase in which players take their actions?

Does the game immediately end?

Do you still keep on tallying up renown points on a piece of paper- recording them till the end of the renown phase?

This came up in the game we were playing, as people were desperately buying up the last bits of renown, when they saw the renown pool running very low. (The renown pool ran out mid-action phase)

Do you still keep a tally of the renown points gathered, until the full end of the round?

Many Thanks,
Ewan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Arthur Ellis
United States
Ashland
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Running Out OF Renown In The Renown Pool Midway Through Actions
Arcturus2006 wrote:
Do you still keep on tallying up renown points on a piece of paper- recording them till the end of the renown phase?

This. Although the paper is optional. :) But yeah the rules say to keep track somehow and add to your score at the end.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Running Out OF Renown In The Renown Pool Midway Through Actions
Ah,
Thanks Joseph,
So even if it runs out mid-way through an action phase- you can still gather renown from acts such as

A) Using Broadcasting Devices after winning a battle
B) Defeating Yugai in the upcoming Yugai phase (or board) and then rolling 5's or 6's
C) Any other method etc.

So you keep on accumulating them, and, you then add the renown for the occupied developments you have- giving you one final grand total!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan McGovern
United States
Petaluma
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was under the impression that renown was only awarded during the last phase. Not accumulated while performing various actions... Or am I playing wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patricia Piolon
Netherlands
Amsterdam
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brendan: you can buy renown during a Buy action, or get it through your gang members' special abilities.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Clarke
Canada
Port Coquitlam
B.C.
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joepinion wrote:
Arcturus2006 wrote:
Do you still keep on tallying up renown points on a piece of paper- recording them till the end of the renown phase?

This. Although the paper is optional. But yeah the rules say to keep track somehow and add to your score at the end.


You don't need paper...when you run out, just give yourself reknown tokens straight out of the box. When everyone's done taking their reknown this way after the pool has been emptied, the game is over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patricia Piolon
Netherlands
Amsterdam
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The point is that you can still get renown *after* all the renown in the box is gone, because the game only finishes at the end of the turn...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manny S
United States
Seattle
WA
flag msg tools
Blades in the Dark by John Harper - twitter.com/john_harper
badge
"When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up." -CS Lewis
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skyanth wrote:
The point is that you can still get renown *after* all the renown in the box is gone, because the game only finishes at the end of the turn...


This is pretty standard in most games that use a "victory point" mechanism - when the pool runs out, the game is ending/ended, but typically all players that are owed VPs are given them (otherwise there can be arguments about who "qualified first" for those final VPs).

It's basically common sense - if you qualify for 2 VPs and I qualify for 1 VP, but there is only 1 VP chip left in the pool, we just make a note to add 2 VP to your total.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunter E
United States
Seattle
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would agree that that seems like the rational way to do it, but do we have dev confirmation on this one? The rulebook states:

Quote:
If a player would ever gain renown during the award renown phase and there are not enough renown tokens left to claim, that player counts up the renown he would have received and adds it to his current total.

(emphasis added)

Nowhere that I can find does it say anything w.r.t. renown gains other than during the award phase.

The FAQ says:

Quote:
Q: Does the game end immediately when the renown pool is depleted?
A: The game can only end at the end of the Award Renown Phase. If the renown pool is depleted before then, keep track of how much renown a player would earn beyond what his tokens show. Once there are no renown tokens and players have reached the end of the Award Renown Phase, the game ends.


This would seem to imply that all additional renown gains are counted, but if that's the case the letter of the rulebook is wrong, and explicit errata would be called for.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HunterJE wrote:
I would agree that that seems like the rational way to do it, but do we have dev confirmation on this one? The rulebook states:

Quote:
If a player would ever gain renown during the award renown phase and there are not enough renown tokens left to claim, that player counts up the renown he would have received and adds it to his current total.

(emphasis added)

Nowhere that I can find does it say anything w.r.t. renown gains other than during the award phase.

You did not notice the rule on p. 15:
Quote:
If there were not enough
renown tokens for all players to claim the
renown they earned for the round, those
players add the renown they would have
claimed to their current total of tokens.
The result is their final score.

Here it says you keep track of extra renown earned for the round, not just during the award renown phase.

And this is developer confirmation. The FAQ was vetted by the designer and published on the company website.


HunterJE wrote:
The FAQ says:

Quote:
Q: Does the game end immediately when the renown pool is depleted?
A: The game can only end at the end of the Award Renown Phase. If the renown pool is depleted before then, keep track of how much renown a player would earn beyond what his tokens show. Once there are no renown tokens and players have reached the end of the Award Renown Phase, the game ends.

This would seem to imply that all additional renown gains are counted, but if that's the case the letter of the rulebook is wrong, and explicit errata would be called for.

This actually does not contradict the rulebook, as seen above. Even the rule as expressed on p. 11 is not contradicted, just the assumption that "during the award renown phase" means "only during the award renown phase".

Improvements in wording are quite welcome, though, and they'll probably make a note of it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.