Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: extinguishing smoke next to fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Connor
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I'm standing next to two adjacent fire counters, can I flip one to smoke, or does it immediately become fire again due to the adjacent fire?

I swear I read in the rules something like "at the end of your turn, there should be no smoke next to fire".

Thus I'm not sure if it's allowed, or just pointless since it immediately turns back to fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Tessmann III
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
th3tick wrote:
If I'm standing next to two adjacent fire counters, can I flip one to smoke, or does it immediately become fire again due to the adjacent fire?

I swear I read in the rules something like "at the end of your turn, there should be no smoke next to fire".

Thus I'm not sure if it's allowed, or just pointless since it immediately turns back to fire.

Check the turn order. Fire spreads during a separate phase, after you take your actions. So

1. extinguish to smoke
2. move to adjacent fire
3. extinguish to smoke, leaving no fire adjacent to either smoke squares

does indeed make some progress. (And then you roll a fire adjacent, immediately undoing all your hard work. Sigh.)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
th3tick wrote:

I swear I read in the rules something like "at the end of your turn, there should be no smoke next to fire".


Right... during advance the fire you check for "flashover". Any smoke adjacent to fire is flipped to fire.

BOb
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is why it is possible to stand in a room facing into a hallway full of fire, flip a single fire into smoke, and then walk through the smoke into the next room. During the flash-over phase it will revert back to fire but at least you were able to cross.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Robrob wrote:
This is why it is possible to stand in a room facing into a hallway full of fire, flip a single fire into smoke, and then walk through the smoke into the next room. During the flash-over phase it will revert back to fire but at least you were able to cross.

Especially helpful when you are trying to drag out a victim with the Rescue Specialist!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Smoke placed next to fire becomes fire immediately, smoke existing next to fire (from your previous actions) becomes fire at the end of the fire advance phase.
Besides the mentioned uses for partially extinguishing fire it also may serve to reduce the danger of an explosion hitting you- it protects you from the effects of your own first fire advance roll at least.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Tessmann III
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PunTheHun wrote:
Smoke placed next to fire becomes fire immediately, smoke existing next to fire (from your previous actions) becomes fire at the end of the fire advance phase.

The rules do say this, but I can’t see how the game works any differently if you ignore that line and simply flip the new smoke to fire according to the Flashover rule. Of course, I’ve only played the base game. If any expansions add new things that happen before propagating flashover, I don't know them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bort
Australia
Brisbane
Qld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MacMog wrote:
The rules do say this, but I can’t see how the game works any differently if you ignore that line and simply flip the new smoke to fire according to the Flashover rule..


As Robrob says a couple of posts up, you can still move into the smoke before it flips (or carry someone thru).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Tessmann III
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bortmonkey wrote:
MacMog wrote:
The rules do say this, but I can’t see how the game works any differently if you ignore that line and simply flip the new smoke to fire according to the Flashover rule.


As Robrob says a couple of posts up, you can still move into the smoke before it flips (or carry someone thru).


Yes, and the Flashover rule takes place during the Advance Fire phase, after your action phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dante
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Damn. In my first game just now I never turned over smoke adjacent to fire during the Fire Advancement phase. Kicking myself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Byrd
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And the flashovers happen after explosions are resolved, so you can prevent a shockwave reaching all the way to a wall or extending the fire area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.