Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Hello all,

The official rules offer a system to score points based on the end-game condition. Without revisiting the debate over the usefulness of the aforementioned system, I have a question regarding the definition of, “visited”, as its applied to scoring the, “Number of the last sector visited (before the bunker) x 10 VPs”.

I would assume the INTENT of the rule defines the last sector “visited” as the last sector in which the player SURVIVED at least one Phase 5 combat.

I’m a newbie to the game and am working to get past Omaha beach (solo). Usually, I survive Sector 8 to move during Phase 4 into Sector 9, only to get wiped-out in Sector 9 during the immediate Phase 5. Technically, I was IN Sector 9 at the end of Phase 4, so did I “visit” Sector 9?

If the answer is “Yes”, this doesn’t sound to me like it meets the intent of the scoring system. Thusly when I score the above situation, I score the “last sector visited” as Sector 8, NOT Sector 9. I reason that I didn’t survive Sector 9 through the end of my first turn there, so I shouldn’t earn the points for advancing to Sector 9.

But the anal side of me says that since I was ‘technically’ in Sector 9 DURING Phase 5, then Sector 9 should be counted as the last sector visited. I could be convinced to see it this way also, as ‘technically’ I DID advance into Sector 9. But as I got my butt kicked there, should I get credit for it? Hmmm…. Maybe this did revisit the debate after all!

Thx,
bgm1961

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
I'm not sure it matters a ton and I doubt there is anything official written but sure, it does say "visited" and not survived. You did indeed visit sector 9 in your example, but you did not survive. Give yourself 10 more points.