Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Heroscape Master Set: Rise of the Valkyrie» Forums » Rules

Subject: Arrow Volley Question and Minute Men rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Teody Lim

California
msg tools
I am not sure if this has been answered or not.

Suppose you have two Roman Archer Squads. On the first army card, one of the archers is taken out. Can an archer from the second army card join the two from the first army card to do an arrow volley?

Suppose you have two Minute Men Squads. The special power says "If none of the 4th Massachusetts Line move this turn, add 1 die to their attack". If you move one man from army card 1, does this affect the men from army card 2? Or if you use the special power for the army card 1, can you move your men from army card 2?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation of the rules is that the various single figures don't really belong to any given card.
Thus for the roman archers as long as you have at least three left, any three archers on the board can do an arrow volley. Likewise any group of Mass 4th can do their special attack as long as none of those chosen to fire move. Note figures have no memory, so if you have multiple activations in one turn, the figures that participate in each activation can overlap. This is just like having only one squad and activating it multiple times, what they did the first time has no effect on the subsequent activations. One thing do have to keep track of is that as figures are killed you must fill up one card before adding figures to the next, otherwise you could get the silly result of (assuming four squads) of having 3/4 of a figure type killed and your opponent still get no points becasue each card still has a live figure left.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be a little clearer with the Minute Men.

You can only shoot with 4 of the 8 on the board. If you move any of the minute men then that minute man has to count as one of the 4 that is allowed to shoot, therefore you just nullified the wait then fire ability.

So in a sense yes, you can't move any of the minute men otherwise that ability is not useable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Jordal
United States
Austin
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Ike Clanton painted by me for Wild West Exodus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is kind of hard to explain, but here goes.

We will say you have two squads of Archers. Each time you place an order marker on either card you may choose any 3 use. This includes moving attacking and any special abilities. When a figure dies you will want to put your markers on the card that has no dead people on it, so that you can still use all your figures. Also you must fill one card completly with dead figures before moving to the next. This prevents people in timed games from winning by having a whole army of units with one live character on each.

This gives common squads a good amount of flexibility. I really like taking several squads of Marrden Hounds.

There are 3 turns in every round, so you can choose any 4 of your line and either move with them, or stand and shoot. If you move with even one, none of them get the bonus for the turn. If you put your 1 and 2 markers on them, you can move them on your first turn and shoot without the bonus, then stay still and shoot on the second turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.