Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Inka» Forums » Rules

Subject: clarification: edge of "playing area" / edge of "board" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Duff
United States
The Colony
Texas
flag msg tools
In the English rules, the text at the bottom of page 3 says that "minimal" collision with an "obstacle" makes the tile rotation illegal. The text in the middle of the left column on page 3 says that the "edge of the board" is an obstacle.

So rotating a piece in a way which even minimally crosses over the edge of the board is illegal.

However, the rules are unclear on what is the "edge of the board". One interpretation is to consider the board to be only the hexagonal area containing the triangular spaces. Another interpretation is to include the partial circles containing the exits. The wording next to the large graphic on page 1 refers to "the edge of the playing area" and points to a yellow line which includes the exits.

This came up in an actual game where the winner hinged on which interpretation to use. We had to declare the game a draw to stop the arguing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The board: the hexagonal area containing the triangular spaces + the partial circles containing the exits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Oliver
United States
Alameda
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've had exactly the same question come up in one of our games. You would think something so simple as what exactly is the edge of the board would not be an issue. This, along with some other issues, really begs for a better-written set of rules, or an official FAQ. However, after several more plays, I don't think the game is good enough to warrant the effort.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Walters
United Kingdom
Amersham
Bucks
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GeoMan wrote:
The board: the hexagonal area containing the triangular spaces + the partial circles containing the exits.

I disagree. The movement spaces are surrounded by an edge that is coloured the same as the holes. That indicates to me that they are available for tiles to rotate over. It is the wall beyond that edging that is not allowed to be rotated over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.