Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Saint Petersburg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does pub card score vp even if you don't use it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rodney Arndt
United States
Elma
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that you can buy points using the pub card. But if you decide NOT buy any points after the builder phase with this card, does the owner of this card get scored for one point for simply having this card in his possesion?
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Re: Pub card question
Each "Pub" (you've in play) gives you points based on how much money you spend; there are six possibilities:
0$ --> 0 VPs
2$ --> 1 VPs
4$ --> 2 VPs
6$ --> 3 VPs
8$ --> 4 VPs
10$ --> 5 VPs
You're free to choose a different option (or the same) at the end of each "blue" pahse. If you've both "Pub"s, you can choose a different option (or the same) for each of the two (e.g. at most you'll spend a total of 20$ to get 10 VPs).

Have fun! meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Pub card question
Rodney,

I think you're trying to make a logical conclusion from the fact that the Pub card has a VP symbol at the bottom and the general principle that the bottom of a card shows the card's benefits.

The VP symbol at the bottom of the Pub card is not really a stand-alone VP.

It's just part of a "1 VP = 2 roubles" equation.

Thus, the benefit of the Pub is not VP, but the right to buy VP cheaply.

Eric
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney Arndt
United States
Elma
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Pub card question
Thanks guys, that's what I assumed, but just wanted to be sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Coia
Italy
flag msg tools
Re: Pub card question
Luke the Flaming wrote:
If you've both "Pub"s, you can choose a different option (or the same) for each of the two (e.g. at most you'll spend a total of 20$ to get 10 VPs).


this particular situation is not contemplated in the "rule book", but i think it's the best solution and it respects the spirit of the game.

The other similar case is this one:

What happens if a palyer buys 2 observatories?

i suggest that the player can choose between:

- using them both (in different turns of the same blue phase)
- using one and taking 1 point for the other
- taking 2 points

do you agree?

anyway i think that one player with 2 observatories has a critical advantage.

it's all for now. :-)

bye

roberto77mds
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Pub card question
Edit: Sorry, didn't notice that this is about the ovbservatory, not the pub. I apologize. Bad reply deleted.

Quote:
anyway i think that one player with 2 observatories has a critical advantage.


The strength of the observatory depends on the number of players. In a 2 player game, i'm always glad when my opponents buys one. With 4 players, it's far more valuable.

I've rarely seen 2 observatorys held by one player. And usully it doesn't help him much, since he stuffs his hand with extra cards. A clever use is IMO to use the second observatory for a building upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Peters
Germany
Boeblingen
Baden-Wuerttemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Pub card question
roberto77mds wrote:
- using them both (in different turns of the same blue phase)
- using one and taking 1 point for the other
- taking 2 points


Yes, each observatory can be used as an action independant of any other card a player may or may not have in play. Each observatory not used for its special action at the end of the blue phase gives you one VP.

EDIT: Removed reply to Werbaers deleted comment.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Re: Pub card question
roberto77mds wrote:
What happens if a palyer buys 2 observatories?

i suggest that the player can choose between:

- using them both (in different turns of the same blue phase)
- using one and taking 1 point for the other
- taking 2 points

do you agree?


Of course.
Why should it be different?
If you've two Markets (or Judges or...) don't you get the income from both or them?


Quote:
anyway i think that one player with 2 observatories has a critical advantage.


The "Observatory" is a good card, but with experience you'll learn that it is not as powerful as you initially think.
The only "broken" advantage is a Mistress (or Judge) in the first turn.

Have fun!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
Re: Pub card question
Eric Brosius wrote:
I think you're trying to make a logical conclusion from the fact that the Pub card has a VP symbol at the bottom and the general principle that the bottom of a card shows the card's benefits.

This is why the locations of the VP and ruble symbols are reversed on this card, even though that results in some confusion about which way the transaction goes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.