Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Roma» Forums » Rules

Subject: Covering cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sue Hemberger

Washington
Dist of Columbia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you cover a card and then the covering card ends up discarded/eliminated does the card underneath return to play? So say you cover a card with Nero, play Nero (which requires its discard), are you left with the card your originally had in the space rather than an unused disc?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El Bear
Brazil
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. "Covered" cards are not really covered, but discarded.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Jones
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elbear wrote:
No. "Covered" cards are not really covered, but discarded.


I could be wrong, but my understanding is that they are still in play. If a covered card becomes uncovered, then the card is now active. This seems to be one of the strategies in the game to counteract an aggressive, card killing offense.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Trimmer
United States
Houston
TX-Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the posts in this thread mentions that in the rules discussion of "cover", it means discard. I'll have to verify from my rulebook tonight.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/76637
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Dietrich
Germany
Troisdorf
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What elbear has written is correct. The covered card has to be discarded.
Greetings from germany
Bernd
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Dietrich
Germany
Troisdorf
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What elbear has written is correct. The covered card has to be discarded.
Greetings from germany
Bernd
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jules Gadiot
msg tools
In the dutch rules it says that some specific cards have the ability to cover a building card. Since it specificly says 'cover a building card' could have to me only two explanations:

1. Each other person card can not be put on a place where there is a building. The person with the ability to cover a building is an exeption, after doing this the building has to be discared.

2. You can put this card on top of a building and the building stays in the game. (what happens in this case with the building I don;t know)

For both options I can not find anything in the limited rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernd Dietrich
Germany
Troisdorf
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Again, covered cards means: discard them.
Hope that helps and all the best from Germany
Bernd
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vangelis Velles
Greece
Athens
Agia Paraskevi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also have understood from the rules that "cover" a card (building or character) means "discard". But then, why the designer used the word cover instead of discard, throw away, etc? Cover means that I put a thing on top of one other thing... Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.