Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cursed again by the Monkey God rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Herbie Nichols Project - Dr. Cyclops' Dream
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each time we play, we seem to come up with a new question regarding Curse of the Monkey God. This time, somebody had the Acrobat skill card, and wanted to use it to move through units/obstacles while in monkey form. Can you use your skill card attributes while you're a monkey?

Another question came up regarding damage taken when falling in a pit trap. The card says armor doesn't count, but a shield isn't listed as armor. Can you use a shield to avoid taking damage from a pit trap?

Finally, this game saw the heroes hiding out in town, where they would pop through a glyph, shoot at bad guys, and pop back to town again. It makes for boring play, but we couldn't find anything in the rules to prevent doing it. Is this tactic legit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sphere wrote:

Finally, this game saw the heroes hiding out in town, where they would pop through a glyph, shoot at bad guys, and pop back to town again. It makes for boring play, but we couldn't find anything in the rules to prevent doing it. Is this tactic legit?


Can't tell you the exact page, but it explicitly says that a hero cannot go from town to the dungeon and back to town (or vice versa) in the same turn.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Herbie Nichols Project - Dr. Cyclops' Dream
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. And you're right, I've found it now on page 17: "A hero can only use a glyph once per turn - he may not use a glyph to go to town and then return, or vice versa."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malte Spiess
Germany
Ulm
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Sphere wrote:
Each time we play, we seem to come up with a new question regarding Curse of the Monkey God. This time, somebody had the Acrobat skill card, and wanted to use it to move through units/obstacles while in monkey form. Can you use your skill card attributes while you're a monkey?

Another question came up regarding damage taken when falling in a pit trap. The card says armor doesn't count, but a shield isn't listed as armor. Can you use a shield to avoid taking damage from a pit trap?


These two questions were discussed on the FFG forum and answered by Mike Z (IIRC):

1. You can only move, no skills or anything else may be applied.

2. A shield may not be used against damage that ignores armor. And that's what the
damage from pits does.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Skikr wrote:
1. You can only move, no skills or anything else may be applied.


Incorrect. It depends on the skill. Skills that require that a character take a specific action (Battle, Ready, ect...) or perform a specific action (attack, open a chest, ect...) can not be used as a Monkey can not perform those actions. Skills like Acrobat and Cautious can still be used as being a Monkey does not fail to meet the conditions on the usage of those skills.

Mike Z
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Hall
England
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
badge
LIFEFORM - LATE PLEDGE NOW!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After all, monkeys are naturally acrobatic. And, um, cautious . . .

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's one, Swift or something, that increases your character's movement by 2. Would that apply? What about the Quickness Charm, that grants 1 additional movement point?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.