Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: Correspondence with HiG, part 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Harper
Germany
Magdeburg
Thuringia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I said in the earlier thread (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/93042), I had a few more questions for HiG, and I've just received the answers. There's a couple of surprises in there too:

HiG wrote:
1) Question: Can followers be deployed to the fields, cities and roads on the outer tiles of the City of Carcassonne via a magic gate?
Ansswer: No, that would just cause trouble. Would they then be protected from the dragon, or could the dragon indeed move onto the fields and only rampage outside the city? But the dragon empties the whole field.

2) Question: Can the fairy be moved to the outer tiles of the City of Carcassonne?
Answer: It follows from 1) that it can't.

3) Question: Does you receive the bonus from the the pig-herd tile even if you don't have a pig on the field?
Answer: Yes, the pig herd is a neutral pig, so to speak.

4) Question: When using the princess tile to remove an opponent, can you still move the fairy to one of your own tiles?
Answer: No, for the same reason as with volcanos.

5) Question: When a player is forced to place a tile on a city occupied by another player, and therefore cannot deploy a follower, can they still move the fairy? Or is it the same as being forced not to deploy a follower when placing a volcano tile?
Answer: In this case he may move the fairy, since the volcano rule does not apply here.


1) is a bit odd, as I would have thought it was possible. A bit of reverse logic going on there, I think. You can't use the magic gate to move a follower to the fields surrounding Carcassonne because the dragon can't go there - odd.

3) is interesting: there's a thread (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/72924) where we debated precisely this and concluded that the bonus of the pig herd was dependent on having a pig too. Oh well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I see you still haven't changed the flag.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Harper
Germany
Magdeburg
Thuringia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:
I see you still haven't changed the flag.
I'm not actually allowed to: one of the BGG rules is that you don't lie about your location!
meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well that's a pretty geeky rule. But it reminds me of a story.

Back in the early 80's a friend of mine was hitching across the Southern U.S. He's got a rucksack with the union jack hanging off the back and he's on a long straight desert-type road and nothing in sight. Then behind him he hears a big truck gunning up the road. As it passes him the brakes jam on and this huge rig squeals to a stop. The driver is an old boy and tells him to jump in.

The driver explains that he wasn't going to stop until he saw the flag;

"Hell boy, I haven't seen one of them flags since double-u, double-u two. So tell me........what part of Germany you from?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.