Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Smash Up: Awesome Level 9000» Forums » Rules

Subject: Steam queen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Andersson
Sweden
Eksjö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, Steam queen says "Ongoing: your actions are not affected by other players' cards".

Does this mean, for example, that minions under protection of General Ivan ("Your minions cannot be destroyed") can be killed by your actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty McFly
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Padachan wrote:
So, Steam queen says "Ongoing: your actions are not affected by other players' cards".

Does this mean, for example, that minions under protection of General Ivan ("Your minions cannot be destroyed") can be killed by your actions?

No, because General Ivan isn't affecting Actions, it's affecting Minions (sort of like giving all your Minions the text "This Minion cannot be destroyed.").
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Alderman
United States
Shady Spring
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Trust me, I am not the Traitor.
badge
For Orcs there is no other life but WAR!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Padachan wrote:
So, Steam queen says "Ongoing: your actions are not affected by other players' cards".

Does this mean, for example, that minions under protection of General Ivan ("Your minions cannot be destroyed") can be killed by your actions?


Think of minions text as abilities not actions this makes it easier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Andersson
Sweden
Eksjö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
martidem wrote:

No, because General Ivan isn't affecting Actions, it's affecting Minions (sort of like giving all your Minions the text "This Minion cannot be destroyed.").


But if I have Steam Queen in play and play an action that says "destroy a minion" wouldn't this bypass General Ivan's "your minions cannot be destroyed"?

Can you give an example of when the Steam Queen works?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Padachan wrote:
martidem wrote:

No, because General Ivan isn't affecting Actions, it's affecting Minions (sort of like giving all your Minions the text "This Minion cannot be destroyed.").


But if I have Steam Queen in play and play an action that says "destroy a minion" wouldn't this bypass General Ivan's "your minions cannot be destroyed"?

Can you give an example of when the Steam Queen works?


In the case of of Ivan vs a card that would kill a minion you are arguing an extremely loose definition of the term Affect. People will often try to do this when they don't realize that in Smash Up the term Affect has a very specific definition and you cannot apply an all encompassing broad definition to it as you might ecpect from the common usage of the word. From the rulebook a card is "affected" when

Quote:
Affect: A card is affected
if it is moved, returned,
destroyed, or has an
action attached.


Ivan is not doing any of the above to your action card and hence he alone has no ability which would trigger Steam Queen's ability to protect action cards. He is merely protecting his minions from your action cards which you might try to argue is indirectly affecting your action cards but it is not "affecting" your action card as "affect" is defined in the game.

Steam Queen's ability is meant to protect actions played on bases or minions which are the action cards which usually can be "affected". For example the Bear Necessities card explicitly says to destroy an action card which is considered "affecting" the action card and would be prevented if a player tried to use it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Stout
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alderdust wrote:
Think of minions text as abilities not actions this makes it easier.

The problem with this is that both minions and actions have abilities (see p. 5 of the rule book). So do bases, for that matter (p. 7). When any card affects another card, it is through using its ability. So protecting against "abilities" and protecting against "cards" is pretty much the same thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Wootton
Scotland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
allstar64 wrote:
Padachan wrote:
martidem wrote:

No, because General Ivan isn't affecting Actions, it's affecting Minions (sort of like giving all your Minions the text "This Minion cannot be destroyed.").


But if I have Steam Queen in play and play an action that says "destroy a minion" wouldn't this bypass General Ivan's "your minions cannot be destroyed"?

Can you give an example of when the Steam Queen works?


In the case of of Ivan vs a card that would kill a minion you are arguing an extremely loose definition of the term Affect. People will often try to do this when they don't realize that in Smash Up the term Affect has a very specific definition and you cannot apply an all encompassing broad definition to it as you might ecpect from the common usage of the word. From the rulebook a card is "affected" when

Quote:
Affect: A card is affected
if it is moved, returned,
destroyed, or has an
action attached.


Ivan is not doing any of the above to your action card and hence he alone has no ability which would trigger Steam Queen's ability to protect action cards. He is merely protecting his minions from your action cards which you might try to argue is indirectly affecting your action cards but it is not "affecting" your action card as "affect" is defined in the game.

Steam Queen's ability is meant to protect actions played on bases or minions which are the action cards which usually can be "affected". For example the Bear Necessities card explicitly says to destroy an action card which is considered "affecting" the action card and would be prevented if a player tried to use it.


This is correct, "affect" has a specific meaning in the rules. Ivan does not move, return, destroy, or attach an action to your action. Therefore he is not affecting it. Equally, he is not even really changing what it does. He is just altering the way his minions are affected by it.

Mark
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Andersson
Sweden
Eksjö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification! I still find it a bit strange but I'll just have to get used to the term "affect".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.