Thumb up
2 Posts

Power Grid: Northern Europe/United Kingdom & Ireland» Forums » Rules

Subject: It's not really two networks... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Perry
United Kingdom
flag msg tools

Played my first game today, and we missed the 20 Elektro connection charge between any city in Great Britain, to any city in Ireland. When we read that "the start of the second network costs the player dearly", we were expecting some really tough penalty. 20 Elektro seems quite reasonable given some of the connection charges in Wales and Scotland.

We ended up playing it so that you had to have two sets of power stations, a set to power your cities in the UK and a second set to power those in Ireland.

If a player is limited to having a total of 5 power plants, with a maximum of three on one network, and able to power a maximum of 3 at one go, the game still works - or seemed to.

I need to play this again, with the proper rules and then perhaps with two completely separate networks as today...
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
flag msg tools
Back in the days when there were less maps we played every map back to back
Ooh a little higher, now a bit to the left, a little more, a little more, just a bit more. Oooh yes, that's the spot!
d10-1 Given that many games are won by a margin of one or two Elektro, 20 is a significant cost.

d10-2 If you play the Japan map, also remember the second network there also uses the same power plants as the first cool
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.