GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,203 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I move through Peace Treaties? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Maertz
United States
Duluth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
When you have a Peace Treaty with a player the rules say moving to a hex with a ship or influence counter of that player breaks the treaty.

Can you move through a hex containing a influence counter and not stop there without breaking the treaty?

Blood

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CptBlood wrote:
When you have a Peace Treaty with a player the rules say moving to a hex with a ship or influence counter of that player breaks the treaty.

Can you move through a hex containing a influence counter and not stop there without breaking the treaty?
No. Even if you "keep moving" you have moved to the hex, which immediately triggers the breaking of the treaty.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin S.
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a relatively new player, but from my interpretation, you cannot move through an area belonging to someone with whom you have a treaty without breaking that treaty.

The expansion adds a stronger form of alliance, but it the base game, the treaty is gone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Lacey
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
CptBlood wrote:
When you have a Peace Treaty with a player the rules say moving to a hex with a ship or influence counter of that player breaks the treaty.

Can you move through a hex containing a influence counter and not stop there without breaking the treaty?
No. Even if you "keep moving" you have moved to the hex, which immediately triggers the breaking of the treaty.


Alliances though...that's another story...and dependent upon you having the expansion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Motz
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exchanging Ambassadors isn't really a peace treaty. It's more of a temporary cessation of hostilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schade Nocturne
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This became a topic of discussion for our group as well and while we agreed that you cannot move through another persons territory en route to an unoccupied hex without breaking the treaty. We were more conflicted when a ship has stealth and doing the same thing. Ultimately the majority agreed that having stealth and moving through an occupied territory to an unoccupied hex would not break the treaty as they never saw you.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radoslaw Polanski
Poland
Cracow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You mean stealth = cloaking device?

Interesting interpretation, I will keep this in my mind and we will test it although this will be very limited... very dependent on the situation. Exiles will surely get something in return, as they are suffering from poor starbases - a possibility to use partially diplomatic ally to pass his sectors for as long as they have good drives.

One rule that would be important here is that the ship must pass hexes in one single activation - if player would like to pass diplomatic ally region by 2 activations, with a quick stop by - this will still trigger traitor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Schade wrote:
This became a topic of discussion for our group as well and while we agreed that you cannot move through another persons territory en route to an unoccupied hex without breaking the treaty. We were more conflicted when a ship has stealth and doing the same thing. Ultimately the majority agreed that having stealth and moving through an occupied territory to an unoccupied hex would not break the treaty as they never saw you.

Thoughts?

This belongs to Variants forum
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.