Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Lord of the Rings: Sauron» Forums » Variants

Subject: Military Victory=Sauron player eliminated rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marty Wißmath
Canada
Port Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This can be done with or without the Black Gate, depending on whether you want a higher or lower difficulty, respectively. It is obviously only possible in conjunction with the Friends&Foes expansion.

When the Fellowship destroys the last Foe, the Sauron player is out of the game; he can play no more Sauron or Nazgul cards and the Black Rider figure is removed from the Main Gameboard. The game does not immediately end, however, and the Fellowship may choose to continue on to Mt. Doom to destroy the One Ring. The Sauron figure sauron then stays where it is and play is resumed as per the original rules, with the black square symbol referring to a normal die roll. The eye symbols when encountered move Sauron forward as normal, of course. Discard symbols may continue to be seen as an extra blank (as stated in F&F rules), and the remaining resource chips/cards can still be used.
If the last Foe is defeated after Sauron plays a Nazgul card, the event can be avoided. This Nazgul card is then simply discarded (after the upper left symbol is dealt with first!). The consequences of a major/minor sauron card must first be dealt with.

I find that this puts a bit more pressure on the Sauron player, evens out the balance somewhat (especially if the Black Gate is not used), and reconciles Military Victory as a rewarding achievement within the spirit of the theme. This can of course be combined with the Military Victory=Watchful Peace variant. What I particularly appreciate with any such variant is that there are no actual Rules changes here, merely Rules transitions which keeps it all legitimate within the game mechanics. This is good for 'purists' who like to mix it up a bit but keep within official rules and material, so that Knizia's design is not tampered with.

Where points are concerned, if the Fellowship decides to take this option but then loses with the Ringbearer being eliminated, a Big Eye encountered, or all hobbits die while attempting to destroy the One Ring, shields do not count for extra points, and Sauron--although no longer active--wins. sauron Essentially the Fellowship forfeits the regular Military Victory conditions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfred
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Interesting take on fitting Military Victory in with the spirit of the theme. I'll have to try this next time. Could be a while though, as the game has landed on the bottom shelf nowadays.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.