Popular Tags: [View All]
David Me
United States
Bowling Green
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems broken if played as is. Shouldn't "last licks" be invoked, giving everyone the same number of turns? We were all close in score until Player 2 far exceeded the scores of players 3 and 4 on his last move, denying p3 & p4 a turn to compensate. Am I missing something? Are we just supposed to play "kick the leader" and try to stop the earlier players from the seemingly large advantage they have from moving first?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
I have never noticed a first-player advantage in this game. (I've played 8+ times.) The first player is twice as likely to lose their first market from a fire or flood than to gain from a festival, although most likely no event will take place before their next turn. However, since they have placed the first card, the following players can often add their cards to increase that first shop's size while maintaining or decreasing its income (doorways) and making it further fire & flood bait. This follows for the second player, to a lesser degree, and continues until it just becomes the flow of the game.

Also, if player two is poised to collect enough income to win the game. The others should, if possible, close up enough doorwars to prevent that. Otherwise, player two may have simply played very well. If you still think it's unbalanced, then fine, set a score threshold to trigger the game's end, and play through all players. Let us know if you like that better as a variant, but I certainly would not call it broken as written.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb