Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Blue Moon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Special Rule #1 vs. the STOP Icon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Durandetta
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
From the FAQ:

"Q: If I play Trigger Brainstorm [Hoax 29] ("On this turn, I may play any
number of support cards.") and then a character with a STOP icon,
does Trigger Brainstorm allow me to play support cards, despite the
STOP icon (which usually prevents playing any support cards)?

A: Yes. This is straight from rulebook page 17, under first point:
'Instructions on the cards supersede these game rules.' because the
STOP icon is a game rule (rulebook page 14, under STOP: 'Playing a
card with a STOP icon prevents you from playing any further cards
during your turn.') and the special power text on Trigger Brainstorm
supersedes it."

Why doesn't special rule #1 ("If an instruction disallows you to play cards of a certain type, you may not play a card of this type even if the special power text on such a card – once played – would counter the disallowing instruction.") apply here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tubalord wrote:
From the FAQ:

"Q: If I play Trigger Brainstorm [Hoax 29] ("On this turn, I may play any
number of support cards.") and then a character with a STOP icon,
does Trigger Brainstorm allow me to play support cards, despite the
STOP icon (which usually prevents playing any support cards)?

A: Yes. This is straight from rulebook page 17, under first point:
'Instructions on the cards supersede these game rules.' because the
STOP icon is a game rule (rulebook page 14, under STOP: 'Playing a
card with a STOP icon prevents you from playing any further cards
during your turn.') and the special power text on Trigger Brainstorm
supersedes it."

Why doesn't special rule #1 ("If an instruction disallows you to play cards of a certain type, you may not play a card of this type even if the special power text on such a card – once played – would counter the disallowing instruction.") apply here?


I'll try on this one. Chris will probably be along later.

1. There is no "instruction" preventing you from playing cards. The STOP Icon sould, but the text of the already played Trigger Brainstorm overrides that.

2. The special rule wouldn't appy any way, because it is not any of the Support cards being played that say to override the STOP, it is the Leadership card already on the table.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl
Austria
Salzburg
Salzburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Symbols are no Special Function. As such the have a lower priority as any text on the cards. If instead of the stop symbol a text with the same function would be on the card, then indeed you'd not be allowed to play further cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Durandetta
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
AllenDoum wrote:
1. There is no "instruction" preventing you from playing cards. The STOP Icon sould, but the text of the already played Trigger Brainstorm overrides that.


The order of play doesn't imply precedence, to the best of my knowledge.

AllenDoum wrote:
2. The special rule wouldn't appy any way, because it is not any of the Support cards being played that say to override the STOP, it is the Leadership card already on the table.


I'm only taking into account the first part of special rule #1, before the words "even if" (after which, though important, is mostly a clarification).

I think this would apply, assuming the ruling behind the STOP icon is considered to be an "instruction." Otherwise, I can understand why it would not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Greisz
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tubalord wrote:
Why doesn't special rule #1 ("If an instruction disallows you to play cards of a certain type, you may not play a card of this type even if the special power text on such a card – once played – would counter the disallowing instruction.") apply here?

I'm definitely not an expert in Blue Moon, I've purchased it but haven't played it. But in reading the above it seems pretty clear that it's talking about playing a card after the stop because of the special text on the card being played. So this would mean you couldn't play a card after the stop icon using it's special text, but if you had special text already in play that overrode the stop icon it would still work.

That would be my understanding of what's written, anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AxonDomini
United States
Smithtown
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple answer: icons are rules, not special power texts. Special power texts trump rules. Therefor, Trigger Brainstorm overrides the Stop icon.

The Stop icon is NOT the same as "you may not" special power text, which WOULD trump Trigger Brainstorm if it referred to support cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 11 23-25 Feb 2018 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AllenDoum wrote:
I'll try on this one. Chris will probably be along later.


Hardly seems worth it, there seem to be enough people with various relevant points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.