Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Antike» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fighting between 3 players' military units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Dahlstrom
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
(This is a picture of a frozen waterfall, from behind the waterfall)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This actually happened last night! One player owned Sicily, and had troops there. Another player moved a troop in, but neither wanted to fight, so they co-existed. A third player moved troops in, and chose to fight.

The rules are written assuming only 2 players in a fight - including using the word "both" - but they can easily be extrapolated to 3 players: any of the involved players can declare a fight, and, if someone does, each player removes troops until only one player's pieces remain.

Anything wrong with that?

PDahl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Not a problem. The third player when moving his troops in asks each player in turn whether they wish to fight, or announces to each player in turn that they wish to fight. The combat then happens for that pair in the normal fashion. As the rules don't cover in which order the other players must be asked/told, I leave that up to the third player's choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walther Gerdts
Germany
Hamburg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
exactly
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So then what's the followup? There are a couple of scenarios:

1. C moves in, asks A if he wants to fight. A says yes and they fight. C wins. Is there now a potential B/C fight?

2. C moves in, asks A if he wants to fight. A says no. C asks B. B says yes and they fight. C wins. Is there now a potential A/C fight since the situation has changed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
So then what's the followup? There are a couple of scenarios:

1. C moves in, asks A if he wants to fight. A says yes and they fight. C wins. Is there now a potential B/C fight?

2. C moves in, asks A if he wants to fight. A says no. C asks B. B says yes and they fight. C wins. Is there now a potential A/C fight since the situation has changed?

There is no 'winning'... if they fight, each player removes a unit. Look at it as each unit moving independantly (this is how the rule really works, as a shortcut you can physically move pieces more than 1 at a time, but the units really move 1 at a time).

In that light, even if you did move more than 1 unit in, it works the same way. By "winning" I assume you mean "has troops left over". In that case to answer your question, in case 1 the answer is "Yes, if troops are left over after fighting A, then they can fight B's troops". and in case 2 the answer is "No, A already declined fighting." Of course on A's turn they can fight (though I forget if A has to do a maneuver action to do so if they're in the same place - I think so.)

- Seth
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Dahlstrom
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
(This is a picture of a frozen waterfall, from behind the waterfall)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, OK, got it.

It helped to conceptualize one troop being moved in at a time. (that's officially what's happening anyway, and moving a bunch is just a short-cut)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.